Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Election is Open for Three Wisconsin Corn Board Districts

Election is Open for Three Wisconsin Corn Board Districts
The race in District 3 is a contested race.

Corn growers in three Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board districts have until January 17 to vote for new members to fill open seats on the board. Positions up for election are those representing Districts 3, 5 and 6. The District three race is contested.

Nominated in District 3 are W. Michael Slattery of Maribel and James E. Zimmerman of Rosendale. Nominated in District 5 is James Birchman of Fennimore, and nominated in District 6 is Howard Hartmann of Prairie du Sac.

Election is Open for Three Wisconsin Corn Board Districts

Eligible corn growers in those districts may download ballots at Ballots may be scanned and returned by email or may be mailed. Mailed ballots must be postmarked on or before January 17, 2015. Email ballots to [email protected] or mail them to Wisconsin DATCP, Market Orders Program, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708. If you have questions or need a ballot to be mailed, call DATCP's Juli Speck at 608-224-5134.

Voters must be careful to complete and return both sides of the ballot. Ballots without both a vote and a signature will be invalid and will not be counted. Voters may choose to write in the names of eligible representatives in the district.

The three districts involved in the election include the following counties:

•District 3 – Forest, Florence, Marinette, Langlade, Oconto, Shawano, Door, Outagamie, Brown, Kewaunee, Winnebago, Calumet, Manitowoc, Fond du Lac and Sheboygan counties.

•District 5 – La Crosse, Vernon, Crawford, Richland, Grant, Iowa and Lafayette counties.

•District 6 – Sauk and Dane counties.

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection administers elections for the Wisconsin Corn Promotions Board and other commodity marketing boards in the state. Each year, three of the three-year terms expire on the nine-member corn promotions board. To learn more about the market order boards, visit

Source: DATCP
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.