Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Dunn County wins Wisconsin 4-H Dairy Judging Contest

Dunn County wins Wisconsin 4-H Dairy Judging Contest
They will compete at National 4-H Dairy Judging Contest at World Dairy Expo

Eighty-nine youth competed at the Wisconsin 4-H Dairy Judging Contest held July 20 in Marshfield in conjunction with the State Ayrshire and Guernsey shows. Ayrshire and Guernsey animals were pulled out of the show strings and Holstein, Brown Swiss, and Jersey cattle were trucked in from nearby farms to make classes for the contest. 

Dunn County won the senior contest at the Wisconsin 4-H Dairy Judging Contest held July 20. From left are, Coach Jim Powers, Luke Powers, Brooke Brantner, Krista Styer, Ben Powers and Coach Scott Nelson.

Dunn County took top honors in the senior contest and will go on to represent Wisconsin in the National 4-H Dairy Judging Contest at World Dairy Expo. Barron County took second place and will represent Wisconsin and compete at the All American in Harrisburg, Pa. Dawson Nickels from Dodge County was the high individual as well as the top reasons individual in the senior division. The top four individual seniors who were not on one of the first or second place teams will come together to form a team that will represent Wisconsin at NAILE in Lousiville, Ky, in November. These four individuals are Rachel Coyne from Pierce County, Brooke Roberts from Manitowoc County, Erica Helmer from Sheboygan County and Chelsey Jensen from Polk County.

In the junior competition Dodge County won first team overall. Kylie Nickels of Dodge County was the top individual and won the Type Analysis Questions category. Sheboygan County was the second high team and was the top team in the Type Analysis Questions category.

Top Five Junior Teams
1. Dodge County
Kylie Nickels
Samantha Pitterle
Matthew Gunst
Nathan Petersen

2. Sheboygan County
Cole Booth
Elise Bleck
Brady Bleck
Ava Booth

3. Polk County
Mikayla Peper
Grace Haase
Luke Johnson
Katherine Elwood

4. Shawano County
Carter Jauquet
Sydney Gwidt
Whitney Ferfecki
Thea Tauchen

5. Wood County
Laney Schmitt
Emma Dorshorst
Rainna Simone
Sara Dorshorst

Top 15 Junior Individuals
Kylie Nickels- Dodge County
Cole Booth- Sheboygan County
Laney Schmitt- Wood County
Emilie Brose- Vernon County
Ben Styer- Dunn County
Elise Bleck- Sheboygan County
Mikayla Peper- Polk County
Clarissa Ulness- Manitowoc County
Carter Jauquet- Shawano County
Samantha Pitterle- Dodge County
Matthew Gunst- Dodge County
Sydney Gwidt- Shawano County
Grace Haase- Polk County
Madison Calvert- Lafayette County
Sarah Hagenow- Columbia County

Top Five Senior Teams

1. Dunn County
Krista Styer
Ben Powers
Luke Powers
Brooke Brantner

2. Barron County
David Pintens
Bryan Knoop
Collin Wille
Tyler Crosby

3. Dodge County
Dawson Nickels
Paul Grulke
Benjamin Buske
Emily Butler

4. Manitowoc County
Brooke Roberts
Jake Siemers
Vanessa Roberts
Maddie Zutz

5. Rock County
Otis Johnson
Alyssa Templeton
Kristen Broege
Abigail Martin

Top 15 Senior Individuals
Dawson Nickels- Dodge County
Rachel Coyne- Pierce County
Brooke Roberts- Manitowoc County
David Pintens- Barron County
Erica Helmer- Sheboygan County
Matthew Kramer- Fond du Lac County
Krista Styer- Dunn County
Chelsey Jensen- Polk County
Kaila Wussow- Shawano County
Otis Johnson- Rock County
Sanne De Bruijn- Manitowoc County
Eva Doornink- St Croix County
Ben Powers- Dunn County
Colin Uecker- Jefferson County
Luke Powers- Dunn County

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.