Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

DATCP Announces WMMB Election Results

17 nominees vied for 9 seats.

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) announced the results of the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board 2008 Board of Directors election where 17 nominees ran for nine seats. Of the 5,229 producers eligible to vote, 18.8% returned ballots, up from 12.2% last year.
Commencing July 1, the following producers are certified as elected members of the WMMB and will serve a three-year term.

District 1 Ashland, Bayfield, Burnett, Douglas, Iron, Rusk, Sawyer and Washburn Counties
Director: Benjamin J. Peterson, Grantsburg (incumbent)

District 4 Barron and Polk Counties
Director: Lyle K. Jensen, Amery (incumbent)

District 7 Clark County
Director: Bill Herr, Greenwood (incumbent)

District 10 Brown, Door and Kewaunee Counties
Director: Roger Buresh, Luxemburg (incumbent)

District 13 Buffalo, Pierce and Pepin Counties
Director: Lanette Harsdorf, Beldenville (incumbent)

District 16 Fond du Lac, Green Lake and Marquette Counties
Director: Romona Averbeck, Fond du Lac (incumbent)

District 19 Columbia and Dodge Counties
Director: Sarah E. Lloyd, Wisconsin Dells

District 22 Grant County
Director: Mary Wackerschauser, Lancaster (incumbent)

District 25 Green, Rock and Walworth Counties
Director: Stacy Eberle, Monroe

Board members supervise WMMB policies and procedures and approve WMMB's long-range business plan and annual budget. All WMMB programs — which are funded by Wisconsin dairy producer checkoff dollars — are designed to increase demand for Wisconsin-produced milk. For more information on WMMB and the 2008 election, visit

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.