Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Dairyland Youth Celebration Tops $10,000

The winners are listed here.

By Katy Katzman

The Governor's Dairyland Youth Celebration, held last weekend in conjunction with the Wisconsin State Fair Junior Dairy Show, topped the $10,000 mark, raising $10,350 for dairy youth and dairy youth programs in the state.

Leading off the live auction was the sale of the Golden Gallon representing the Supreme Champion of the Wisconsin State Fair Junior Dairy Show. The Supreme Champion, the Grand Champion Ayrshire, was exhibited by Zachary Damrow of Dodge County. When the gavel dropped, the Golden Gallon sold for $2,000 to Priority One Ag, Manitowoc.

The Reserve Supreme Champion of the Wisconsin State Fair Junior Dairy Show, the Grand Champion Jersey, was exhibited by Jordan Ebert of Kewaunee County. Cottonseed LLC of LaCrosse paid $2,100 for the Reserve Supreme Champion Golden Gallon.

The Supreme Champion Showperson of the Wisconsin State Fair Junior Dairy Show was 16-year-old Kyle Natzke of Dodge County. Natzke was represented in the auction with a CowParade figurine, 'The Tank,' created by artist Larry Schultz of Milton. Kingsmill Farm II, Durham, N.C., was the winning bidder at $2,000.

The silent auction featured gift baskets representing the exhibitor of each grand champion, as well as the winner in each showmanship age division.

The silent auction results were as follows:

Brown Swiss Grand Champion Gift Basket
Exhibitor: Seth Nehls, Dodge County
Buyer: Katzman Bros., Whitewater
Amount: $450

Guernsey Grand Champion Gift Basket
Exhibitor: Jackie Peterson, St. Croix County
Buyer: Susan Crane, Burlington
Amount: $425

Holstein Grand Champion Gift Basket
Exhibitor: Breinne Hendrickson, Green County
Buyer: The Practice Vet & Embryo Transfer Service, Junction City
Amount: $500

Milking Shorthorn Grand Champion Gift Basket
Exhibitor: Annie Damrow, Dodge County
Buyer: Dodge County Holstein Association
Amount: $325

12-Year-Old Showperson Gift Basket
Exhibitor: Crystal Peterman, Manitowoc County
Buyer: Dorsland Farm, Junction City
Amount: $375

13-Year-Old Showperson Gift Basket
Exhibitor: Brooks Hendrickson, Green County
Buyer: East Central/Select Sires, Waupun
Amount: $300

14-Year-Old Showperson Gift Basket
Exhibitor: Courtney Perronne, Sheboygan County
Buyer: Alpha Genetics, Kettle Moraine Vet Clinic, Morse Landscaping, Sunnyview Feeder Farms, Fritz & Eileen Perronne, Sheboygan Falls
Amount: $650

15-Year-Old Showperson Gift Basket
Exhibitor: Nicole Ballweg, Dane County
Buyer: ABS Global, DeForest
Amount: $325

17-Year-Old Showperson Gift Basket
Exhibitor: Laura Elliott, Dane County
Buyer: Waterloo Veterinary Clinic, Waterloo
Amount: $300

18-Year-Old Showperson Gift Basket
Exhibitor: Julia Cooper, Dane County
Buyer: ABS Global, DeForest
Amount: $300

19-Year-Old Showperson Gift Basket
Exhibitor: Brian Coyne, Pierce County
Buyer: Roger Owens, Frederick
Amount: $300

Forty percent of the proceeds from both the live and silent auctions go back to the youth exhibitor; 20 percent to the Wisconsin 4-H Dairy Endowment Fund; 20 percent to the Wisconsin State Fair Park Foundation; and 20 percent to the Wisconsin State Fair Dairy Promotion Board. So, the winning bids not only support the winning youth exhibitor but also the more than 4,500 Wisconsin youth involved in the state's 4-H dairy project.

Other junior dairy exhibitors recognized during the Governor's Dairyland Youth Celebration included:

James W. Crowley Award Finalists
• Danielle Brown, Dodgeville – Scholarship Recipient
• Hans Johnson, Star Prairie – Scholarship Recipient
• Frank Behling, Fox Lake
• Laura Brown, Dodgeville
• Angela Brusky, Pulaski
• Tommy Butts, Browntown
• Cody Carpenter, Darlington
• Hillary Hartley, Soldiers Grove
• Jennifer Kindschuh, Brownsville
• Sheri Kirchner, Clintonville
• Julie Meinnert, Sheboygan Falls
• Ann O'Leary, Evansville
• Marlee Sickinger, Manitowoc
• Kayla Solum, Rice Lake
• Theresa Wyss, Monroe

Wisconsin State Fair Dairy Promotion Board Scholarship Recipients
• Laura Elliott, Marshall
• Jodi Kauth, Loyal
• Robert O'Leary, Evansville
• Eric Rooker, Waldo
• Clayton Wohlk, Almena
Wisconsin 4-H Foundation Dairy Scholarship Recipients
• Richard Franta, Spring Valley
• Robert O'Leary, Evansville
• Kayla Solum, Rice Lake

State FFA Award Recipients
• Michael Hoffmann, Amherst - Dairy Production Placement
• Theresa Schiferl, Marshfield - Dairy Production Entrepreneurship
• Hannah Iverson, Plum City – Young Entrepreneur of the Year
• Southern Door FFA – Jacob Brey, Ben Kinnard, Brandon Kruswick, Garrett Rass – Dairy Cattle Evaluation Team
• Jacob Brey, Southern Door; Danielle Brown, Iowa County (tie) – Top Dairy Cattle Evaluation Individual

State Dairy Judging Contest Winners
• Dane County – Laura Elliott, Ben Sarbacker, Kelly Sime, Abbey Wethal – World Dairy Expo Team
• St. Croix County – Jill Cowles, Jake Kuschke, Kendra Mitchell, Tom Zwald – Harrisburg Team
• Danielle Brown, Iowa County; Justin Langer, Columbia County; Kelly Lee, Jefferson County; Michelle Owens, Polk County – Louisville Team
• Danielle Brown, Iowa County – Top Senior Individual
• Valerie Kramer, Fond du Lac County – Top Junior Individual
• Fond du Lac County – Top Junior Team

Great Northern Cup Award Recipient
• Brian Coyne, Spring Valley

George Barlass Award Recipient
• Darci O'Brien, Steuben

The Governor's Dairyland Youth Celebration was presented by the Wisconsin State Fair Dairy Promotion Board. Event sponsors included: Andis Company, Badgerland Financial, Foremost Farms USA, UW-Madison Department of Dairy Science, 4-H Dairy Endowment Fund and the state breed associations. For more information, contact Katy Katzman at 262-473-5097 or [email protected].

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.