Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IA

Culver Appoints Climate Change Advisory Council

Iowa governor names 23 members to serve on panel to develop recommendations to reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

Iowa Governor Chet Culver on September 7 appointed 23 individuals to serve on the state's new Climate Change Advisory Council.

"I am honored to name these individuals to this important advisory council, and I have the utmost confidence they will serve our state well," says Culver. "Climate change is real and affecting millions of people around the globe. We must do what we can now to lessen its effects. With the help of these individuals, I'm confident we will be able to meet the challenges climate change presents and create a brighter future for everyone."

The new board members are: Robert Lloyd, Iowa City; Joanne Howard, Davenport; Dawn Chapman, Sioux City; Marian Gelb, Des Moines; Cathy Woolums, Bettendorf; Nile Lanning, Nevada; Norm Olson, Nevada; David Miller, Ankeny; Krista Tanner, Clive; Richard Cruse, Ames; Frank Cownie, Des Moines; Julie Smith, Des Moines; Jennifer Easler, Clive; Roya Stanley, Des Moines; Ed Fallon, Des Moines; Tom Hadden, Altoona; Teresa Galluzzo, Iowa City; Tom Fey, Johnston; James Burns, Carroll; Richard Ney, Coralville; Roxanne Carisch, Lake City; Jerald Schnoor, Iowa City; and Christopher Horan, Waterloo.

Information about the advisory council

The Iowa Department of Natural Resources is the administrator for this board. The members are elected to 3-year, staggered terms. The 27 voting members are appointed by the governor. There are an additional 4 non-voting members which come from the legislature - two from the Senate and two from the House.

According to state law, all 23 voting members shall be appointed by the governor and shall represent the following:

* University of Iowa Center for Gobal and Regional Environmental Research
* University of Northern Iowa Center for Energy and Environmental Education
* Iowa Farm Bureau
* Iowa Public Transit Association
* Iowa Rural Electric Cooperatives
* Investor-owned utilities
* Municipal utilities
* The Iowa Utilities Board
* One association with environmental interests or activities
* One association with conservation interests or activities
* International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
* Iowa Association of Business and Industry
* Iowa Energy Center
* Iowa Renewable Fuels Association
* Office of Consumer Advocate of the Department of Justice
* A representative from local government
* Director of the Office of Energy Independence
* A manufacturer of equipment used for alternative energy production
* Department of Agronomy at Iowa State University
* Four members of the general public

What is the purpose of this council?

The council shall develop multiple scenarios designed to reduce statewide greenhouse gas emissions including one scenario that would reduce such emissions by 50% by 2050. The council shall also develop short-term, medium-term and long-term scenarios designed to reduce statewide greenhouse gas emissions and shall consider the cost-effectiveness of the scenarios. The council shall establish a baseline year for purposes of calculating reductions in statewide greenhouse gas emissions. The council shall submit the proposal to the governor and general assembly by January 1, 2008. The council may periodically adopt recommendations designed to encourage the reduction of statewide greenhouse gas emissions.

By September 1 of each year, the Department of Natural Resources shall submit a report to the governor and the general assembly regarding the greenhouse gas emissions in the state during the previous calendar year and forecasting trends in such emissions. The first submission by the DNR shall be filed on September 1, 2008 for the calendar year beginning January 1, 2007.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.