Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: NE

Corn Yield Contest Postmark Deadline Is August 1

All entries for the National Corn Yield Contest must be postmarked or submitted online by August 1.

Wednesday is the last day to submit entries for the 42nd National Corn Yield Contest. No entries postmarked after August 1 will be accepted, the National Corn Growers Association says.

Growers may compete in as many categories as they wish. However, each field entered must be classed in only one production category. There are nine categories:

  • A Non-irrigated class
  • AA Non-irrigated class
  • A No Till/Strip Till Non-irrigated
  • AA No Till/Strip Till Irrigated
  • No Till/Strip Till Non-irrigated
  • A Ridge Till Non-irrigated
  • AA Ridge Till Non-irrigated
  • Ridge Till Irrigated
  • Irrigated

Class AA includes Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Ohio and Wisconsin. Class A is for all other states. No-till irrigated, ridge-till irrigated and irrigated classes comprise all states.

In 2006, 3,157 growers from 46 states competed in nine categories. The national NCYC winners will be honored in Nashville at the 2008 Commodity Classic, the combined convention and trade show of NCGA, the American Soybean Association and the National Association of Wheat Growers.

The fee for entries is $105. For more on registration, visit

TAGS: Soybean
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.