Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: United States

Corn Yield Contest Deadline Extended

National Corn Growers Association adds 10 days, so you have more time. Reason: Late planting.

You name it, the weather has probably delivered it across the Corn Belt this spring - wind, drought, hail, flood, more flood - and late planting. Given those conditions, the National Corn Growers Association has extended the final entry deadline for the 2011 National Corn Yield Contest by 10 days to July 25. Entries must be submitted online or postmarked on or before that date and are subject to the standard fee of $110 per entry.

This contest, which draws international attention, has shown that - even if only on small acreage areas - corn is capable of a lot more than 250 bushels per acre. "It was a late, long planting season for many growers throughout the Corn Belt," says Steve Ebke, chairman of the Production and Stewardship Action Team. He notes that the association recognizes the strain farmers experience while attempting to get the crop in the ground.

Ebke adds: "Early delays can cause tasks to pile up. We want every grower interested to have an opportunity to participate in the contest and hope that by extending the deadline we make it easier for them to do so."

This contest, which has been underway for nearly 50 years, provides growers the opportunity to compete with their colleagues to grow the most corn per acre. And contestants have stepped up with some tremendous numbers in the past. This has given participants recognition and an opportunity to learn from their peers. In addition, winners receive national recognition in publications such as the NCYC Corn Yield Guide, as well as cash trips or other awards from participating sponsoring seed and crop protection companies. In Nashville, Tenn., during the 2012 Commodity Classic, state winners will be presented awards at the NCYC Breakfast, and national winners receive recognition at the awards banquet.

You can sign up online using the NCGA entry form.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.