is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
Corn Growers Announce Election Results

Corn Growers Announce Election Results

Iowa Corn Growers Association and Iowa Corn Promotion Board both held board of director elections recently and now have some new people serving in these leadership positions.

New farmer leaders for the Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) and the Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB) will bring grassroots policy issues forward and make sure that market development, education and research continue to create opportunities for Iowa corn grower profitability. Separate ICGA and ICPB elections were held on July 12, 2011.

  Re-elected incumbent directors are indicated with a star.  

Iowa Corn Growers Association

District 1 – Bruce Rohwer, O'Brien County *

District 3 – Bob Hemesath, Winneshiek County

District 4 – Curt Mether, Harrison County

District 5 – Roger Zylstra, Jasper County*

District 7 – Kevin Ross, Pottawattamie County*

Iowa Corn Promotion Board

District 1 – Lowell Appleton, O'Brien County

District 3 – Nick Leibold, Chickasaw County*

District 5 – Roscoe Eggers, Marshall County*

District 8 – Mark Heckman, Muscatine County

District 9 – Wayne Humphreys, Louisa County

Director elections are only held in districts where terms have expired. For those districts not listed, current directors serve on the board. The Iowa Corn Promotion Board (ICPB), works to develop and defend markets, fund research, and provide education about corn and corn products. The Iowa Corn Growers Association (ICGA) is a membership organization lobbying on agricultural issues on behalf of its 6,500 farmer members. Both organizations work on the joint mission to create opportunities for long-term Iowa corn grower profitability.

Iowa Corn Opportunities adds three new board managers

In other news involving Iowa Corn, it was announced last week that Iowa Corn Opportunities (ICO) has new key leadership additions to its board of managers. Joining the ICO board are Dick Gallagher, Dan Broderick and James Eiler.

ICO was established in 2008 to facilitate new business developments and leverage support for start-up ventures that positively impact corn growers. Since that time, ICO has made several investments and continues to look for new investment opportunities that will benefit corn growers.

Dick Gallagher joined the ICO board in 2010. He grows corn and soybeans on a farm near Washington in Washington County. Dick has been farming for 36 years and currently serves as chair of the Iowa Corn Promotion Board. Dick has a wide variety of experience investing in ventures both on and off the farm. 

ICO is a limited liability company owned by Iowa Corn Growers Association

Dan Broderick joined the board in June of 2011 and is a Sr. Fellow of Innovation and Entrepreneurship at BioGenerator in St. Louis as well as Venture Partner at Prolog Ventures. He is founder and president of the Global Agtech Investors Network (GAIN), a not for profit corporation dedicated to supporting capital formation and innovation in agtech companies. Broderick is actively involved in the venture capital community on a regional and national level and has served on the Board of Directors of the National Venture Capital Association (NVCA).

James Eiler joined the ICO board in June of 2011 and is the founding principal of Eiler Capital Advisors, a niche investment banking firm focused on capital formation in the food, agribusiness and renewable energy sectors. Jim's financial services career spans 30 years of senior management positions in commercial banks, the Farm Credit System, John Deere Credit, and Cybus Capital.

Craig Floss, will continue to serve as ICO's Chief Executive Officer with Pam Johnson serving as President and Brian Jones as Chief Operating Officer of ICO. In addition, Jon Leafstedt continues in his role as board manager.  

For more information visit,

Iowa Corn Opportunities LLC (ICO) exists as a limited liability company owned by the Iowa Corn Growers Association. ICO provides additional opportunities to fund new and expanded programs that support Iowa's corn growers.  ICO operates as an equity fund set up to assist new and growing companies that are developing businesses that are important to the corn industry. 

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.