Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: NE
Cooperative Council Awards Seven Scholarships

Cooperative Council Awards Seven Scholarships

Students will attend UNL, Curtis or Chadron State College.

The Nebraska Cooperative Council Education Foundation has awarded seven scholarships totaling $6,050 for the 2011-12 academic year to students at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, the Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture (NCTA) at Curtis and Chadron State College (CSC).

The scholarship program was initiated for the 1993-94 academic year with funding from voluntary contributions from the agricultural cooperatives which are members of the Nebraska Cooperative Council.  Since the program's inception, 144 scholarships totaling $109,700 have been awarded.

To be eligible for the scholarships, students must be majoring in agricultural business/economics at UNL; business/management or ag production systems with the business option at NCTA; or have a major or minor in agribusiness at Chadron State.  Eligibility is restricted to sons or daughters of a parent or legal guardian who has been an active member, director, or employee for at least the prior three years of a cooperative which has been a member in good standing of the Council for at least five years. 

The five recipients of $950 scholarships at UNL include one incoming student and four upperclass students. They are:

Kyle Rohr, son of Mark and Missi Rohr of Tobias, will be a freshman majoring  in Agribusiness. The Rohrs are members of Farmers Cooperative in Dorchester.

Lance Atwater, son of Kevin and Denise Atwater of Ayr, will be a junior majoring in Ag Economics. The Atwaters are members of CHS AgriService Center in Holdrege.

Alec Ibach, son of Greg and Teresa Ibach of Sumner, will be a sophomore majoring in Ag Economics/Animal Science. The Ibachs are members of All Points Co-op in Gothenburg.

Garrett Schutz, son of Todd and Lisa Schutz of Arapahoe, will be a sophomore majoring in Agribusiness. Todd and Lisa are members of Ag Valley Co-op in Edison.

Sara Van Newkirk, daughter of Joe and Cyndi Van Newkirk of Oshkosh, will be a senior majoring in Ag Economics/Animal Science. The Van Newkirks are members of Westco in Alliance where Joe serves on its board of directors.

The recipient of a $650 scholarship at the Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture at Curtis is Waylon Christen, son of Thomas and Janie Christen of Anselmo.  He is a second-year student majoring in Ag Production Systems. The Christens are members of Farmers Co-op Grain Company in Merna where Thomas serves on its board of directors.

Recipient of a $650 scholarship at Chadron State College is Stacee Wright, daughter of Brian and Heidi Wright of Hamlet. She is a senior majoring in Business Administration with a minor in Agribusiness. The Wright's are members of the Wauneta Co-op Oil Company where Brian serves on its board of directors.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.