Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Cooperative Announces Scholarships

Cooperative Announces Scholarships
United Cooperative wards $20,000 in scholarships and recipients are parents or students that are patron members of the co-op.

During the recent annual meeting of United Cooperative at the Juneau Community Center, Juneau, David Cramer, United Cooperative president and chief executive officer, informed the cooperative’s patron members of the 20, 2012, $1,000 scholarship winners.

Cooperative Announces Scholarships

At least five of the scholarships have been awarded to students majoring in an agricultural field, and at least three have been designated to students attending a technical school. Applicants are judged on their leadership skills, scholastic achievement, extra-curricular activities, motivation, and academic and personal goals. To be eligible, the student or the parent must be a patron member of United Cooperative; the student must attend an accredited college, university, or technical school; and the student must maintain a GPA of 2.0 or above on a 4.0 scale.

The 2012 United Cooperative scholarship recipients:

- A.J. Kitchen, Beaver Dam, son of Art and Diane Kitchen;
- Alexander Yost, Omro, John Yost III and Jennifer Yost;
- Alyssa Hantzsch, Baraboo, Gilbert and Hilda Hantzsch;
- Amber Zimmerman, Fox Lake, Dan and Renee Zimmerman;
- Ashley Ainsworth, Shawano, Mark and Patricia Ainsworth;
- Ashley Toll, Eldorado, Doug and Mary Toll;
- Ashley Zastrow, Horicon, Donald and Linda Zastrow;
- Austin Renz, Poynette, John and Denise Renz;
- Bailey Fernau, Ripon, Richard and Debra Fernau;
- Bo Dixon Bingen, Brownsville, James and Paula Bingen;
- Bob Hofacker, Appleton, John and Lynn Hofacker;
- Bradley M. Henken, Burnett, Randall and Michelle Henken;
- Cayla Hantzsch, Baraboo, Gilbert and Hilda Hantzsch;
- Enan Zelinski, Ixonia, Todd and Mary Zelinski;
- Erin Sorge, Baraboo, Eric and Karen Sorge;
- Kaitlin Fuhrman, Tigerton, James and Diane Fuhrman;
- Logan Schmidt, Lone Rock, Randy and Shelly Schmidt;
- Morgan Strauss, Helenville, Robert and Jerri Strauss;
- Travis Luxton, Hillpoint, Tom and Kay Luxton; and
- Tyler Kovalaske, Waterloo, Tim and Chris Kovalaske.

Due to the expansion of United Cooperative into the northern region of the state, the cooperative decided to increase the number of $1,000 scholarships for graduating high school seniors, from 15 to 20 this year. All applications are judged by the Wisconsin Federated Youth Foundation.

Formed in 1936, United Cooperative is a full-service cooperative offering feed, grain, agronomy, and energy products and services to Wisconsin farmers and consumers. United Cooperative has locations in Baraboo, Beaver Dam, Bonduel, Deerfield, Denmark, Gresham, Hartford, Horicon, Hustisford, Iron Ridge, Johnson Creek, Mayville, Pickett, Poynette, Prairie du Sac, Pulaski, Reedsburg, Ripon, Rock Springs, Sauk City, South Beaver Dam, Watertown, and Wyocena.


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.