is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

College Students to Attend USDA Forum

Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns announced that 11 university students have been selected to attend USDA's 2007 Agricultural Outlook Forum.

USDA Secretary Mike Johanns announced Thursday the selection of 11 university students to attend USDA's 2007 Agricultural Outlook Forum. The conference, "Agriculture at the Crossroads: Energy, Farm and Rural Policy," is scheduled for March 1 and 2 at the Crystal Gateway Marriott Hotel in Arlington, Virginia.

"Attending the Forum gives our young people the perspective to recognize historic change and the wide range of opportunities in today's world of agriculture," Johanns says. The Agricultural Outlook Forum Student Diversity Program was created this year to give students insight into their agricultural studies.

The juniors and seniors majoring in agricultural-related studies at Land Grant universities were selected based on their essays, "Why I Want a Career in Agriculture." The students representing their universities are Rosalind Booker, Virginia State University; Meredith M. Esguerra, University of Maryland Eastern Shore; Monique Fahie, Alcorn State University; Sara Falk, Michigan State University; Matthew Greiner, Michigan State University; Alicia Lowe, Virginia State University; Lakeitha Ruffin, Alcorn State University; LeAnn Rutledge, North Carolina A & T State University; Kristen Walker, University of Maryland Eastern Shore; Corrina Willis, Lincoln University; and Victoria Young, Lincoln University.

Plenary speeches are webcast at after 3:30 p.m. EST on March 1.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.