is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

Chambliss Takes on Senate Ag Committee

Georgia Republican will chair the committee as former chair Thad Cochran, R-Miss., heads for Senate Appropriations Committee. Compiled by staff

Sen. Saxby Chambliss, R-Ga., has been named by Senate Majority Leader Bill Frist, R-Tenn., to replace Sen. Thad Cochran, R-Miss., as head of the Senate Agriculture Committee. Chambliss will take over when the 109th Congress convenes in January. Cochran is moving on to chair the Senate Appropriations Committee, while Chambliss will step down as from his seat on the Senate Judiciary Committee.

Chambliss passes over more senior senators for the ag post because those leaders elected to keep their current committee positions in the new Congress. On the House side, Rep. Bob Goodlatte, R-Va., is expected to remain in his position as chair of the ag committee.

The Corn Refiners Association announced that it welcomed Chambliss as head of the committee noting that Chambliss will "provide a steady hand at the helm both to resolve outstanding trade conflicts and to open vital new markets for U.S. agriculture."

The National Cotton Council notes that during 2002 as the new farm bill was being written Chambliss chaired a key House subcommittee with responsibility for general farm commodities. He served on the House Ag Committee during his eight years as a representative and has served on the Senate Ag Committee since joining the Senate two years ago.

Chambliss will be responsible for conducting confirmation hearings for Nebraska Governor Mike Johanns, who is nominated to replace Ann Veneman as Secretary of Agriculture. And Chambliss takes the reins in time to begin the process of preparing new farm legislation to replace the 2002 Farm Bill, which expires with the 2007 crop.

In other Senate committee changes, Sen. Ted Stevens, R-Alaska, will chair Senate Commerce Committee. Sen. John McCain, R-Ariz., will chair the Indian Affairs Committee. All moves are subject to caucus approval, which is expected in January.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.