Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IN

Beef Cattle Association Announces Area Meetings

Beef Cattle Association Announces Area Meetings
Full slate of 10 meetings set for this winter.

The Indiana Beef Cattle Association is divided into areas across the state. Areas will hold a public meeting with an educational feature, food, fellowship and in some cases, a district director election for the IBCA board. Joe Moore, executive director of the Indiana Beef Cattle Association, says it's a cooperative effort between IBCA and Purdue University Extension.

Four of the meetings will be held in December. The rest will be held in January. Times and meeting locations have been announced for each meeting.

Learn about industry: Food, fellowship and an educational topic will be on tap at area beef cattle meetings beginning in December.

The first meeting is Wednesday, Dec. 11 in Martinsville. It will be held at the Pavilion at the Morgan County Fairgrounds, beginning at 6:30 EST. Chris Parker, Extension ag educator, is host. Call 765-342-1010 for reservations. Counties included are Morgan, Marion, Boone, Hendricks, Johnson, Hamilton, Hancock and Shelby. The current director is Ned Hollingsworth. Moore notes that director elections will be held at this meeting.

The second meeting is Thursday, Dec.12 at Christo's Banquet Center, Plymouth; 6 p.m. EST. Kelly Heckaman is the contact for reservations. Reach her at: 574-372-2340. This covers area 10, including: Elkhart, Kosciusko, Lake, LaPorte, Marshall, Porter, St. Joseph and Starke counties. The current director for IBCA is Bruce Lamb.

The third meeting is Monday, Dec. 16, at McGraw's Steakhouse in West Lafayette at 6:30 EST. Send reservations to Jeff Phillips at 765-474-0793. Counties in Area 9 include Benton, Fountain, Jasper, Montgomery, Newton, Pulaski, Tippecanoe, Warren and White. The director is Joe Horstman.

The fourth meeting is Wednesday, Dec.18 at Southeast Purdue Ag Center, 6:30 p.m. EST. Call Kris Medic at 812-379-1655 for reservations. Counties in Area 1 include Bartholomew, Brown, Dearborn, Decatur, Jefferson, Jennings, Ohio, Ripley and Switzerland. The director is Ben Hoene.

January meetings will include: Monday Jan. 6, Haubstadt Park Restaurant, Poseyville, 6:30 EST; same day, Cass County Fairgrounds, 6:30 EST; Tuesday, Jan. 7, Eagles Nest, Columbia City, 6:30 EST; Thursday, Jan. 9, Smith's Family Farm, Pendleton, 6:30 EST; Saturday, Jan. 11, Southern Hills Church, Salem; 11 a.m. EST: and Monday, Jan. 13, Exhibit Hall, Clay County Fairgrounds, 6:30 EST.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.