Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: MO

Beef Ballot

Producers vie for Missouri Beef Industry Council seats for Region 1, 4 and at-large.

The Missouri Beef Industry Council encourages all beef producers in the state to vote in the MBIC board member elections during the month of August. The MBIC board administers the national $1 per head beef check off on the state level. Producers have a voice in who represents them when it comes to spending those dollars.

The Missouri Department of Agriculture will mail ballots to registered producers by Aug. 13, 2007. Ballots must be postmarked no later than August 27, 2007 to be valid.

Producers in Regions 1 and 4 will vote for two candidates while producers in all other areas of the state will vote only for the at-large candidate. Producers who have been nominated by the Missouri Cattlemen's Association, Missouri Farm Bureau and MFA to serve on the board of directors are as follows:

Region 1
Chris Derks of Kings City
John Redmen of Amity
John Roberts of Leeton

Region 4
James Rickman of Stockton
Lawrence Haflich of Neosho

Howard Hardeke, Bolivar
Matt Reynolds, Huntsville

More about the beef checkoff is available at For Beef Board member election information, contact the Missouri Department of Agriculture at 573-751-2559;, or visit your local USDA Farm Service Agency office.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.