Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IN

Beck's Opens Nominations For Annual Award

Beck's Opens Nominations For Annual Award
Time to nominate a Hoosier for the Beck's 'Beyond the Fence' Awards

Nominations are now being accepted for the Beck's Hybrids Beyond the Fence Awards, which honor individuals for their outstanding service and contributions to Indiana agriculture.

For the third year, the awards are sponsored by Beck's Hybrids of Atlanta, in conjunction with the Indiana Soybean Alliance and the Indiana Corn Growers Association.  The deadline to submit nominations is December 20, 2013.

Proud winners: Beyond the Fence award winners in 2013 included (left to right) Indiana Prairie Farmer's own Tom J. Bechman, Randy Warren, John Baugh and Bob Bishop.

"We're thrilled to once again recognize individuals who have a strong passion and dedication to agriculture," said Scott Beck, vice president of Beck's Hybrids.  "Indiana would not be where it is today without the support of individuals who help educate, report and volunteer their time to promote the importance of agriculture."

This year, nominations are being sought for the following categories:

• The Beck's Friend of Indiana Agriculture Award is for an individual who has made a contribution to the industry, but isn't directly involved in agriculture.

• The Beck's Agricultural Education Outreach Award is for an individual who has made a contribution through his/her role in Indiana agriculture education.

• The Beck's Community Betterment Award is for a farmer whose contribution to the agricultural community has been seen through philanthropic, service, volunteerism, donation and/or leadership projects.

• The Beck's Ag Media Award is for an individual in media who has achieved excellence in reporting about Indiana agriculture.

"We know there are many people out there doing great things for agriculture, and they deserve to be recognized," said Herb Ringel, ICGA president and a farmer from Wabash.  "We hope Hoosiers take the time to nominate these individuals to let them know what they are doing is really making an impact."

The winners for the awards will be announced during the 2014 Livestock Forage and Grain Forum.  The date of the Forum has not yet been determined.

"Many people have misconceptions about how we farm today, and these awards are a way to say thanks to people who go above and beyond to help educate others in their communities," said Joe Steinkamp, ISA membership and policy committee chairman and a farmer from Evansville.

Nomination forms can be found online at or

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.