Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

AWA Honors Several Women in Agriculture at Annual Banquet

AWA Honors Several Women in Agriculture at Annual Banquet
Knigge, Anderson elected to AWA Corporation Board.

The Association of Women in Agriculture recently held its annual meeting and awards banquet.  For the second consecutive year, AWA Day was held in conjunction with Alpha Gamma Rho's Founder's Day.   In attendance were nearly 250 members, alumni, and friends.   We are pleased to report that silent dessert auctions totaled well over $2,000 for housing and academic scholarships that will benefit AWA student members.

During the 2010 annual Association of Women in Agriculture meeting, two alumni were elected, and three were appointed to the AWA Corporation Board.  Elected for her first term as president was Krista Knigge, Mukwonago.  Knigge graduated in 1996 with degrees in agricultural economics and agricultural journalism with an international emphasis.  Knigge is currently a senior account executive for Charleston Orwig, where she provides marketing and communications council for the global Pfizer Poultry Health business.  Kylene Anderson, a dairy science and agricultural journalism graduate from Whitewater, was re-elected to the board as treasurer.  Anderson is currently employed by ABS and is a member of the Global Dairy Product Management Team. 

Additionally, JoDee Sattler, Jill Makovec, and Amber Hahn were appointed to the Education, Financial Management, and House Management committees, respectively.  Sattler, a 1983 agricultural journalism graduate, currently works as an independent consultant, focusing on marketing and communications and event planning for agricultural firms.  Makovec graduated with degrees in dairy science and agricultural journalism, and is working as an account executive with Learfield Communications, representing Wisconsin Radio and Brownfield Agricultural Networks.  Hahn is a 1997 graduate in finance and marketing.  She is currently working to remodel St. Lawrence Bluff Dairy, co-owned by her parents. 

Award Winners Announced

Several individuals were recognized for their outstanding service and contributions to the Association of Women in Agriculture.

Vita Plus was named the 2010 Honored Guest for their generous support of AWA.   They are an employee owned company that serves livestock producers.   Vita Plus has been extremely proactive in the Association of Women in Agriculture, through offering their facilities to AWA for our strategic planning, donating funds to help AWA purchase our house, and helping to educate the public about agriculture through supporting the "In Defense of Farming" campaign.

Sharon Brantmeier, Cottage Grove, received the 2010 Friend of AWA Award.  Brantmeier, a 1985 graduate in dairy science, currently works for Ameriprize.  She is active within the Daughters of Demeter, and has served on the corporation board in many capacities.  She has contributed very much to the Association of Women in Agriculture during the past year, including new towels for the house, the donation of a television set, and her expertise in the planning of a new color scheme for the Great Room.

Naomi Uhlenhake was the recipient of the 2010 Outstanding Alumni Award.  Uhlenhake, Madison, is a 2005 graduate in Biological Systems Engineering, and is currently employed by Frontier FS.  She recently received her professional engineering license, and is a member of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers.  Uhlenhake was recognized as the 2010 Outstanding Alumni Award for role in getting the house sprinkler system installed and her efforts this past year to get a new refrigerator and stove for the house.

Rosalie Geiger, Reedsville, was named the 2010 Outstanding Woman in Agriculture. Geiger is a graduate of Silver Lake College, where she earned her teaching license in English and Home Economics.  She is a member of the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board and was elected to be the first female chairperson of its board of directors in 2004. Geiger was selected by the United States Secretary of Agriculture in 2001 to serve on the National Dairy Board.  She was recognized by the AWA Corporation Board for her significant influence on the agricultural industry.

Marjorie Stieve, Madison, received the 2010 Founder's Award. Stieve is a 1991 graduate in Agricultural Journalism and currently serves as marketing services manager for Vita Plus in Madison.  Over the years, she served on the AWA Corporation Board as president and chair of the marketing committee.  Stieve led the initiation of the successful Women's Ag Leadership Summit last fall and was instrumental in raising funds for the house through the Shaping Lives and brick campaigns over the years. She was previously named Outstanding Alumnus in 2006. 

Christa Behnke, Clintonville, was named the 2010 Outstanding Senior.  Behnke, a senior in Agricultural and Applied Economics and Environmental Studies, serves as Vice President of the organization, and has participated on numerous committees throughout her college career.  She is currently the general chairperson for AWA's annual Breakfast on the Farm, and recently helped to launch the AWA E-Alert.  She received a lifetime alumni membership for her significant role in AWA.

To learn more about AWA, visit

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.