Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

AWA Awards 10 Scholarships Totaling $6,000

AWA Awards 10 Scholarships Totaling $6,000
UW-Madison Association for Women in Agriculture was founded in 1973.

The Association of Women in Agriculture recently awarded 10 scholarships, totaling $6,000, for the 2010-2011 academic year.

Four student members received $750 scholarships made possible by the Daughters of Demeter, a charitable organization made up by the spouses of College and Life Sciences faculty members.  Scholarship recipients included Melissa Doyle, a junior majoring in Agricultural and Applied Economics and Life Sciences Communication; Julie Martin, a junior from Rubicon, majoring in Agribusiness and Life Sciences Communication; and, Dana Erickson, a senior from Mauston, majoring in Animal Science.

Mackenzie Fochs, a sophomore from Mosinee, majoring in Horticulture, received the $500 Delma Woodburn Scholarship.  Woodburn, a 1921 economics graduate, who later went to UW-Madison's Farm and Industry Short Course, was the wife of a UW Professor, James Woodburn.  Woodburn shared much interest in women's success in agriculture, and provided both encouragement and financial resources to AWA.

Danielle Brown, a sophomore from Dodgeville, majoring in Dairy Science received a $750 Larry Satter Scholarship, and Chelsea Brander, a sophomore majoring in Dairy Science and Life Sciences Communication from Spring Green, was the recipient of the $500 Dr. Larry Satter Scholarship.  Satter, a world renowned dairy scientist, served as AWA's long-time campus advisor.

Three student members received scholarships, made possible by generous support of AWA alumni and friends.  $500 scholarship recipients included Sarah Sacker, a junior in Dairy Science from Monroe; Connie Eibergen, a Life Science Communication major from Granton; and, Abbie Jo Holig, a junior in Dairy Science from Mauston.

The Association of Women in Agriculture is a professional, service, and social student organization on the UW-Madison campus.  Founded in 1973, AWA's mission is to support women in their role in the field of agriculture.  Scholarship recipients were selected through an application process, and based upon their involvement in the organization, academic merit, extracurricular activities, and work experience.

To learn more about AWA, visit

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.