is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
AMI Elects New Board of Directors

AMI Elects New Board of Directors

Board includes representatives from American Foods Group, Indiana Packers, OSI Group and Bob Evans

The American Meat Institute last week elected the six officers at the organization's Board of Directors Meeting in Chicago.

Newly elected members include: Greg Benedict, President and COO of American Foods Group, LLC; David McDonald, President of OSI Group, LLC; Gary Jacobson, COO of Indiana Packers Corporation; and Mike Townsley, President of Bob Evans Farms Food Products Division.

Elected to the chairmanship for 2013-2014 is Greg Benedict. Benedict began his career in 1980 with Rosen's Diversified, Inc. In 2005, Rosen's Diversified, Inc. merged its meat processing companies with American Foods Group, Inc. to create American Foods Group, LLC.

New AMI board includes representatives from American Foods Group, Indiana Packers, OSI Group and Bob Evans

David McDonald has been elected to serve as the vice-chair. McDonald has had a variety roles at OSI Group, starting there as an intern 25 years ago.

Gary Jacobson will serve as the Treasurer. Jacobson joined Indiana Packers Corporation in 1993 as plant manager and has served as vice president of operations and executive vice president. Prior to joining Indiana Packers Corporation, Jacobson held positions with Dubuque Packing Company/FDL Foods and Armour & Company.

Mike Townsley is a new incoming officer and will serve as secretary. Townsley joined Bob Evans Farms, Inc. as president and COO of Owens Foods, then Owens Country Sausage in 2003, a wholly owned subsidiary of Bob Evans Farms, Inc. since 1987.

J. Patrick Boyle was re-elected by the AMI membership to serve as the Institute's president and CEO through January 2014 and current AMI Executive Vice President James Hodges was elected to serve as interim president and CEO starting February 1, 2014.

Four new directors were elected to the AMI Board of Directors. The new members will serve a three-year term.

New directors include:Sara Lilygren, Executive Vice President, Corporate Affairs, Tyson Foods, Inc.; Andre Nogueira, CEO, JBS USA; John Richardson, President, Sugar Creek Packing; and Sam Rovit, Executive Vice President, Kraft Foods Group/ Oscar Mayer.

Lilygren, Nogueira and Rovit will also join AMI's Executive Committee along with Einar Einarsson, Marel, Inc., Bill Morgan, Johnsonville Sausage, LLC and Ed Sanchez, Lopez Foods, Inc.

Source: AMI

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.