Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

American Soybean Association board confirms new president

American Soybean Association board confirms new president
Delaware farmer assumes role of American Soybean Association president

The American Soybean Association board on Thursday confirmed Delaware farmer Richard Wilkins for the role of President at the organization's winter meeting in St. Louis.

Outgoing president Wade Cowan moves to the position of chairman of the ASA board, and Ron Moore of Roseville, Ill., was elected to serve as vice president.

Related: ASA details new strategic plan on policy, trade

"I'm honored to serve as president of this wonderful team of farmers, and I'm excited to move forward with what is a very full agenda for the year," Wilkins said.

New leadership: (left to right) Outgoing president Wade Cowan moves to the position of chairman of the ASA board; Delaware farmer Richard Wilkins moves into the role of ASA President; and Ron Moore of Roseville, Ill., was elected to serve as vice president.

"Richard is a smart leader who has a great purchase on how our industry can engage with our partners in other walks of agriculture to make sure we're all successful," said ASA CEO Steve Censky.

With his election as vice president, Moore is now in line to be the association's president in 2016.

"These are an extremely important next few years for our industry," said Moore. "The soybean industry and agriculture as a whole will need continuity and strength in its leadership, and I'm excited to continue that here at ASA."

Also elected to form ASA's nine-member governing committee were Secretary John Heisdorffer from Keota, Iowa; and At-Large Governing Board Members Bret Davis of Delaware, Ohio, Kevin Hoyer of West Salem, Wisc., Kevin Scott of Valley Springs, S.D., and Sam Butler of New Hope, Ala.. Current Treasurer Davie Stephens of Wingo, Ky., was elected to serve a second term in the same position.

Rotating off the ASA governing committee is outgoing chairman Ray Gaesser of Corning, Iowa, who will remain on the ASA board for the remainder of his term as director.

"Helping to guide this organization has been a real joy for me, and I am proud of how far we've come," said Gaesser, during whose presidency ASA successfully advocated the passage of the 2014 Farm Bill.

"Ray deserves a great deal of credit for the strong advocacy ASA has provided for soybean farmers over the last three years, and we're a better organization for it," said Wilkins.

ASA's meeting also served as a venue to celebrate the retirements of former president Steve Wellman of Nebraska, former treasurer Bob Henry of Kansas, and directors Dennis Bogaards of Iowa, John Rivers of South Carolina and Walter Godwin of Georgia.

Assuming positions on the Board as new members at the meeting are Charles Atkinson of Kansas, Cliff Barron of South Carolina, Ken Boswell of Nebraska, and Dean Coleman of Iowa. The meeting also represents the first ASA meeting for directors Pam Snelson of Oklahoma, and Steve Yoder, Jr., of Florida.

Source: American Soybean Association

TAGS: USDA Soybeans
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.