Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IA
Adair County Corn Growers Win ICGA Award

Adair County Corn Growers Win ICGA Award

Adair County Corn Growers Association is the ICGA's Premier County Achievement Award winner for 2010.

The Adair County Corn Growers Association has been honored by the Iowa Corn Growers Association as the ICGA Premier County Achievement Award winner for 2010. ICGA recognized the group for its efforts throughout the 2009-10 year to serve local growers and to promote the importance of corn growing to area residents.

"Adair County stands out because of the range of activities they do," says Don Mason, director of grower services for ICGA.  "In 2010 they've been active throughout the winter, spring and summer." Adair County was recognized for involvement in county activities including policy development, recruiting activities such as membership call nights, local sponsorships of FFA and 4H events and more. Adair County held their own crop fair and an ag day in partnership with other commodity groups and agribusinesses.

ICGA recognizes and rewards strong county corn associations that play an important role in generating grassroots participation in ICGA through the Premier County Achievement Program. All counties may enroll and participate in the Premier County Achievement Program and earn points throughout the year. Counties are evaluated and awarded points for their policy process participation, leadership activities, membership, county activities and more.

Winners are recognized with awards including trips, tickets to games and events and many other prizes. For 2009-2010, Adair County was the statewide, overall winner. Seven Adair County board members and their spouses will be going on a trip to the Bahamas in February.

2009-2010 Premier County Achievement Awards were given to:

• Northeast Iowa: 1st place – Bremer County; 2nd place – Clayton County; 3rd place – Buchanan County

• Northwest Iowa: 1st place – Buena Vista County; 2nd place – Wright County; 3rd place – Cherokee/Plymouth

• Southern Iowa: 1st place – Adair County; 2nd place – Fremont/Page; 3rd place –Washington County

Iowa Corn Growers Association is a membership organization lobbying on agricultural issues on behalf of its 6,400 members. Both organizations (ICGA and the Iowa Corn Promotion Board—the checkoff organization) work on a joint mission to create opportunities for long-term Iowa corn grower profitability.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.