Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

2015 Master Agriculturists to be honored Wednesday in Oshkosh

2015 Master Agriculturists to be honored Wednesday in Oshkosh
Jim Fitzgerald, Tom Kestell, Jeff Sommers and Dan Vosberg will receive awards

The Wisconsin Agriculturist, in partnership with the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board, the law firm of Twohig, Rietbrock, Schneider and Halbach, S.C., of Chilton, and Badgerland Financial, proudly presents the 2015 Master Agriculturist award to four top achievers in farming, community service and leadership.

The Master Agriculturist program is the state's oldest farm awards program and is one of the longest run career-achievement honors programs in American agriculture, dating back to 1930 when the Wisconsin Agriculturist first started honoring Wisconsin farmers for their hard work, dedication, success in farming and exemplary leadership.

A MASTER: Jim Fitzgerald, who milks 1,100 Holstein cows and farms 1,800 acres near Newton, is a 2015 Master Agriculturist.

Congratulations to Jim Fitzgerald of Newton, Tom Kestell of Waldo, Jeff Sommers of Plainfield and Dan Vosberg of South Wayne.

All four winners have worn many hats in their businesses and communities, have built top-notch farming operations, and are truly deserving of receiving the Master Agriculturist award.

The 2015 honorees will be recognized at an awards luncheon on Wednesday, March 25, at the La Sure's Hall in Oshkosh during the Wisconsin Public Service Farm Show held at the nearby Experimental Aircraft Association Grounds. The keynote speaker  is Jerry Apps, professor emeritus at University of Wisconsin-Madison, and author of more than 30 books about Wisconsin agriculture.

The winners were selected for their proven ability and accomplishments as progressive farmers, and also for the time, effort and leadership they contribute to community, church and agricultural organizations.

The Master Agriculturist award is given to honor not only the selected individuals, but also their families.

The Master Agriculturist process begins by requesting a nomination form.

Forms already are available for the 2016 awards. To obtain a form, go online to, call 920-346-2285, email [email protected], or write to: Master Agriculturist, Wisconsin Agriculturist, 112 S. Prairie St., P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.