is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

Soybean yield winner – 87.6 bushels

Pointer Hall Farms of Marvell, Ark., won the 2009 Arkansas Soybean Association Yield Challenge. Pointer Hall Farms won with 87.6 bushels per acre.

The contest results were announced at the Arkansas Soybean Association annual meeting in January. The University of Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service assisted in the contest.

Pointer Hall won a $1,000 check from Cullum Seeds, L.L.C.

Gregory Baltz of Pocahontas, Ark., finished second with a yield of 80 bushels, and Paul Bingham of Trumann took third with a 77.5-bushel yield. Baltz won a case of Headline fungicide.

Pointer Hall Farms planted Asgrow 4703 seed on April 24 using a seeding rate of 130,000 seeds per acre on 15-inch beds. Furrow irrigation was used five times and one application each of Quadris and Mustang were used.

Baltz planted Armor 47-F8 on May 19 on sandy loam soil behind corn with a seeding rate of 175,000 seeds per acre using conventional tillage. He furrow irrigated three times. Bingham planted Pioneer 94Y70 on April 25. He planted 130,000 seeds per acre on twin-row 38-inch beds. He used multiple fungicide applications.

For information about the contest, contact your Arkansas county extension agent or the Arkansas Soybean Association. The Cooperative Extension Service is part of the University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture.

TAGS: Soybean
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.