Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East
Corn+Soybean Digest

OSA Announces 2010 Soybean Yield and Quality Contest

The Ohio Soybean Association (OSA) is announcing the launch of the state’s first-ever Soybean Yield and Quality Contest for the 2010 growing season. Contestants must be current members of OSA and raise at least 10 acres of soybeans in Ohio. Those who are not members may join when entering the contest. The entry fee for members is $25 and $100 for non-members of which $75 goes towards a one-year membership.

Entrants can choose to enter one of six categories that include:

  • conventional tillage
  • no-till
  • low-linolenic soybeans - conventional tillage
  • low-linolenic soybeans - no-till
  • non-GMO soybeans - conventional tillage
  • non-GMO soybeans - no-till

Developed to promote the importance of oil and protein, the quality contest is optional to enter. However, a farmer must enter the soybean yield contest in order to enter the soybean quality contest. This contest is based on the overall highest percentage of oil and percentage of protein content in the state. Entrants in the quality contest must submit a two-pound sample of soybeans for testing.

Entrants will be eligible for several prize packages. An overall state yield winner will be awarded along with category prizes for the top placing entrants. Awards will also be given to the top placing entrants in the quality contest based on the percentages of oil and protein. All prize packages will be announced in mid-June on OSA’s web page

All entry forms and entry fees for the Soybean Yield and Quality Contest must be received by August 31, 2010. The entry form along with a complete listing of contest rules can be downloaded at

The following companies will pay the entry fee for contestants that enter their varieties: Asgrow, LG Seeds, Seed Consultants and all Vistive varieties will be covered by Monsanto.

OSA would like to thank the following sponsors for the 2010 contest: Asgrow, BASF, Bunge, LG Seeds, Monsanto, Ohio Ag Net, Ohio’s Country Journal, Ohio Soybean Council and Seed Consultants.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.