is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
Soybean plant

August 1 deadline for Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Challenge

August 1 sign-up deadline for yield challenge. Sponsored by Arkansas Soybean Association. Non-GMO category available.

The Arkansas Soybean Association is pleased to announce the continuation of the Grow for the Green Soybean Yield Challenge. This is the fourth year for the contest and it is open to all Arkansas soybean producers. The entry deadline is August 1.

The 2014 format continues with the geographic regions and prizes. The state is divided into seven geographic regions and an entire state conventional (non-GMO) category.

1. Northeast Delta: Mississippi, Crittenden, east of Crowley’s Ridge (Clay, Greene, Craighead, Poinsett, Cross).

2. Northeast: Randolph, Lawrence, west of Crowley’s Ridge (Clay, Greene, Craighead, Poinsett, Cross).

3. White River Basin: Independence, Jackson, Woodruff, White, Monroe.

4. Central and Grand Prairie: Pulaski, Lonoke, Prairie, Arkansas.

5. East Central Delta: St. Francis, Lee, Phillips, Desha (Snow Lake Area).

6. Southeast Delta: Jefferson, Lincoln, Drew, Ashley, Chicot, Desha

7. Western: Remainder of the state

8. Conventional Division: Entire state non-GMO production.

Cash prizes for each category will be awarded to the top three producers (minimum of 60 bushels/acre) at the Arkansas Soybean Association Annual Meeting in January. First place is worth $10,000; second place is worth $7,500; and third place is $5,000. The top three in the state across all categories will receive additional prize money.

Crop production information is being compiled by personnel with the Arkansas Soybean Association and/or the University Of Arkansas Division Of Agriculture as a resource for Arkansas producers on all those who enter the contests. 2013 data is available on the Arkansas Soybean Association website at

“These contests and the production information gleaned from the producers show the continued potential of soybean production in Arkansas,” said Jeremy Ross, Arkansas Extension soybean agronomist.

All producers should be interested in the results. The 2013 crop year produced three winners in the Race for 100 Yield Challenge. Matt Miles, McGehee; Nelson Crow, Dumas; and Eddie Tackett, Atkins, each achieved the elusive 100 bushels per acre. They split the $50,000 prize money and are now the founding members of the Arkansas 100 Bushel Club. Producers that achieve the 100 bushel mark are eligible for $10,000 (divided if more than one) and membership in the club.

This contest is administered by the Arkansas Soybean Association with funding provided by the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board using soybean checkoff funds. Crop management assistance is provided by the University Of Arkansas Division Of Agriculture Extension Personnel and many of state-certified crop consultants.

The field must have been planted to soybeans in at least one of the last three production years prior to 2014 and the contestant must have paid the appropriate checkoff assessments on the soybeans.

Entry forms with a complete list of rules are available by calling (501) 666-1418 or from your local county Extension agent. Forms can also be downloaded at or

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.