Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

ASA: 2013 officers and committee assignments

The board of directors of the American Soybean Association has confirmed Danny Murphy from Canton, Miss., as president and Steve Wellman from Syracuse, Neb., as chairman. Board members also elected Ray Gaesser from Corning, Iowa, to serve as first vice president, an office that places Gaesser in line to be ASA president in 2014.

Also elected were Randy Mann from Auburn, Ky., as secretary and Richard Wilkins from Greenwood, Del., as treasurer. Four vice presidents were also elected: Bob Henry from Robinson, Kan.; Bob Worth from Lake Benton, Minn.; Wade Cowan from Brownfield, Texas; and Mark Jackson from Rose Hill, Iowa. These soybean farmer-leaders form the nine-member ASA Executive Committee. Elections were held during ASA’s winter board of director’s meeting in St. Louis.

“My goals include completing the 2012 farm bill, continuing to work with the other organizations in our soy family and impressing upon soybean farmers the need for and value of ASA’s representation in Washington, D.C.,” Murphy said. “ASA will continue working to get a farm bill done in the Lame Duck session or early next year — the drought this year should make it evident how critical crop insurance is to soybean farmers. And to meet the demand for food and feed that will be required by the expected world population of 9 billion people in 2050, U.S. soybean farmers will need to sustainably increase our production in the face of increased regulation, competition from other crops, unfounded questions on the safety of biotechnology, and slow approvals of new biotech traits.”

Following the elections, committee assignments were announced. Public Affairs Committee Chairman Ray Gaesser is joined by committee members Jim Andrew (Iowa), Sam Butler (Alabama), Ted Glaub (Arkansas), Bill Gordon (Minnesota), Bruce Hall (Virginia), Mark Huston (Canada), Rob Joslin (Ohio), Eric Maupin (Tennessee), Matt McCrate (Missouri), Dave Poppens (South Dakota), Robert Ross (Oklahoma), Joe Steinkamp (Ohio), Davie Stephens (Kentucky), Andy Welden (Michigan), Wyatt Whitford (North Carolina) and Richard Wilkins (Mid-Atlantic).

The Membership & Corporate Relations Committee chairman is Bob Worth, with committee members Dennis Bogaards (Iowa), Ron Bunjer (Minnesota), Dean Campbell (Illinois), Wade Cowan (Texas), Cory Devillier (Louisian), Ed Erickson (North Dakota), Walter Godwin (Georgia/Florida), Tom Raffety (Missouri), John Rivers (South Carolina), Dan Roe (Wisconsin) and Jeff Sollars (Ohio).

Bob Henry was appointed chairman of the Trade Policy and International Affairs Committee. Committee members are Mike Cunningham (Illinois), Bret Davis (Ohio), Todd Du Mond (New York), Mark Jackson (Iowa), Ron Kindred (Illinois), Lance Peterson (Minnesota), John Heisdorffer (Iowa), Kevin Hoyer (Wisconsin), Alan Kemper (Indiana), Randy Mann (Kentucky.), Jim Miller (Nebraska), Kevin Scott (South Dakota) and Lawrence Sukalski (Minnesota).

Richard Wilkins was appointed chairman of the Finance Committee, with James Andrew (Iowa), Ron Bunjer (Minnesota), Ray Gaesser (Iowa), Ted Glaub (Arkansas), Jim Miller (Nebraska) and Jeff Sollars (Ohio) serving as committee members.

The board welcomed eight new members: Bret Davis (Ohio), Cory Devillier (Louisiana), Bill Gordon (Minnesota), Mark Huston (Canada), John Rivers (South Carolina), Dan Roe (Wisconsin), Joe Steinkamp (Indiana) and Davie Stephens (Kentucky).

ASA also recognized retiring directors Joe Steiner (Ohio), Charles Cannatella (Louisiana), Barb Overlie (Minnesota), Kevin Marriott (Canada), M.D. Floyd (South Carolina), Tim Goodenough (Wisconsin), Scott Fritz (Indiana) and Jack Trumbo (Kentucky).

ASA represents all U.S. soybean farmers on domestic and international issues of importance to the soybean industry. ASA’s advocacy efforts are made possible through the voluntary membership in ASA by more than 21,000 farmers in 30 states where soybeans are grown.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.