is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: Central

Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board - board of directors for 2011

The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board has announced its board of directors for 2011. Each member of the board is appointed by the state’s governor and serves a two-year term.

Board officers are: Todd Allen, chairman, West Memphis; Shannon Davis, vice chairman, Bono; West Higginbothom, secretary/treasurer, Marianna.

Board members include:  Jim Carroll, Brinkley; Thad Freeland, Tillar; Andrew Oliver, Proctor; Gary Sitzer, Weiner; Rusty Smith, Des Arc; Keith Watkins, Griffithville.

Lanny Ashlock of Little Rock serves as Research Coordinator.

Todd Allen serves as chair of the Financial Audit Committee and serves on the International Marketing Committee for the United Soybean Board (USB).

Jim Carroll serves as a USB director and serves on the Production Committee and the Sustainability Initiative for the USB.

Rusty Smith serves as a USB director and serves on the New Uses Committee for the USB.

Also representing Arkansas on the USB is Robert Stobaugh of Atkins. Stobaugh is a past board member and currently serves as a director for the USB.

Arkansas currently ranks 10th in the nation in soybean production, producing 122 million bushels annually valued at more than $1 billion.  Arkansas soybeans are grown by thousands of Arkansas farmers in 50 of the state’s 75 counties.

The Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board was established to improve the profitability of soybean production in Arkansas and to distribute funds from the checkoff for research and extension projects conducted by the University of Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station and Cooperative Extension Service.

The board consists of soybean producers nominated by various producer organizations within Arkansas and appointed by the governor. Although board members contribute many hours of their time to administering the program, they serve without pay.

The USB, through soybean checkoff investments, is committed to funding the research, development and commercialization of U.S. grown soybeans.Learn more at

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.