Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Arkansan Robert Stobaugh joining United Soybean Board

Arkansan Robert Stobaugh joining United Soybean Board

Robert Stobaugh, a soybean farmer from Atkins, Ark., has been appointed by U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack to serve on the United Soybean Board. Six U.S. soybean farmers will be sworn in as new USB directors at the USB annual meeting in December.

“During my time on the board, I’m hoping to see a continuation of the current efforts to boost both domestic and international use of soybeans in whatever capacity we might find to be beneficial to U.S. farmers,” said Stobaugh.

“I’m looking forward to the opportunity to work in more of an international arena,” added Stobaugh. “I’ve been working with the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board for the past several years and have enjoyed seeing what we’ve done at the state level, but I’m looking forward to seeing what we can do at the national checkoff level, specifically with moving more soybeans internationally than we are now.”

Stobaugh, nominated by the Arkansas Soybean Promotion Board, joins Arkansas farmers Jim Carroll of Brinkley and Rusty Smith of Des Arc on the board.

The six new appointees will join 63 existing or returning farmer-leaders in volunteering their time to serve as stewards of all U.S. soybean farmers’ checkoff investments, ensuring the funds are used effectively to support global demand for U.S. soy and maximize profit opportunities for all U.S. soybean farmers.

Soybean checkoff farmer-leaders focus on investing checkoff funds in domestic and international marketing, maintaining and increasing U.S. soybean yields, finding new uses for soy, ensuring market access for U.S. soy and other areas affecting the U.S. soy industry.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.