Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: United States
48 appointed to United Soybean Board

48 appointed to United Soybean Board

Board members work to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct research and promotion activities

USDA appointed 43 members and five alternates to serve three-year terms on the United Soybean Board.

Newly appointed members:

  • Alabama – Wendy S. Yeager, Orville
  • Arkansas – Derek Haigwood, Newport
  • Delaware – Cory Atkins, Seaford
  • Illinois – Doug Winter, Mill Shoals, and Daniel Farney, Morton
  • Indiana – Kevin Wilson, Walton, and Donald Wyss, Fort Wayne
  • Iowa – Lindsay J. Greiner, Keota
  • Kansas – Lance Rezac, Onaga, and Kurt Maurath, Oakley
  • Kentucky – Barry Alexander, Cadiz
  • Louisiana – Charles J. Cannatella, Melville
  • Maryland – William Layton, Vienna
  • Michigan – David R. Williams, Elsie, and James B. Domagalski, Columbus
  • Minnesota – William Zurn, Callaway, and Gene Stoel, Lake Wilson
  • Mississippi – Jerry Slocum, Coldwater, and C. Douglas Simmons III, Leland
  • Missouri – Meagan Kaiser, Bowling Green, and Neal W. Bredehoeft, Alma
  • Nebraska – Ron Pavelka, Glenvil, and Ed Lammers, Hartington
  • New Jersey – Bill Bibus, Chesterfield
  • New York – Ralph K. Lott, Seneca Falls
  • North Carolina – Reginald H. Strickland, Mt. Olive
  • North Dakota – Darren Kadlec, Pisek, Matthew Gast, Valley City, and Ryan Richard, Horace
  • Ohio – Steve Reinhard, Bucyrus, and Charles W. Bayliss, West Mansfield
  • Oklahoma – Paul Fruendt, Guithrie
  • Pennsylvania – John Harrell, Lebanon
  • South Dakota – Mike McCranie, Claremont, and Jason Frerichs, Wilmot
  • Tennessee – Don Willis, Hillsboro, and Steve May, Hurricane Mills
  • Virginia – Susan A. Watkins, Sutherland
  • Wisconsin – Tony Mellenthin, Menomomie, Charles Prellwitz, Ripon, and Jennifer Poltermann, Genoa City
  • Eastern Region – J. Nicholas Kercheval, Harpers Ferry, WVa
  • Western Region – Grant Watermann, Vona, Colo.

Newly appointed alternates:

  • Delaware – Robert L. Emerson III, Middletown
  • Georgia – Mark O. Ariail, Carnesville
  • New York – Rodman Lott II, Waterloo
  • Oklahoma – Robert Greenlee, Okmulgee
  • Western Region – Ross Watermann, Vona, Colo.

The board is authorized by the Soybean Promotion, Research and Information Act and is composed of 78 members representing 29 states and Eastern and Western regions. Members must be soybean producers nominated by a qualified state soybean board.

Since 1966, Congress has authorized industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service provides oversight to 21 boards. The oversight ensures fiscal accountability and program integrity and is paid for by industry assessments.

Source: USDA Agricultural Marketing Service, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset. 
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.