Farm Progress

Don Stall of Charlotte tops all 112 entries.

January 13, 2017

2 Min Read
WINNER: Don Stall of Eaton County won in “Class B, Late-maturity Irrigated” of Michigan’s soybean contest with 118.91 bushels per acre.

The annual soybean yield contest in Michigan produced the highest yield ever in its 11-year history. Don Stall of Charlotte recorded the highest overall yield with 118.91 bushels per acre.

A record 112 entries from farmers in 26 counties were submitted. Stall has achieved over 100 bushels per acre of soybeans for four of the past five years. He first achieved over 100 bushels per acre in 2012, besting that yield in 2014 and again in 2015, both years with over 102 bushels per acre for irrigated Group 2 soybeans.

The goals of the contest have always been to increase soybean yield and profitability in Michigan, according to organizer Ned Birkey, who is a Michigan State University Extension educator emeritus and owner of Spartan Agricultural Consulting LLC. The contest is simply a “fun” incentive for Michigan farmers to work at these goals, he says.

Contest information is used to help increase farmer attention to the agronomics of soybean production. The contest is sponsored by the Michigan Soybean Promotion Committee and Spartan Agricultural Consulting LLC.

Award presentations will be made at the Great Lakes Crops Summit on Jan. 25.

The 2016 winners and their yields include:
• Class A, Late-maturity Nonirrigated — John Secord of Monroe County, 77.80 bushels per acre
• Class B, Late-maturity Irrigated — Don Stall of Eaton County, 118.91 bushels per acre
• Class C, Mid-maturity Nonirrigated — Richard Buss of Van Buren County, 80.90 bushels per acre
• Class D, Mid-maturity Irrigated — Scott Jirgens of Kalamazoo County, 90.10 bushels per acre
• Class E, Early-maturity — Dave Eickholt of Shiawassee County, 90.92 bushels per acre
• Class F, Non-GMO — Luke Gentz of St. Joseph County, 77.81 bushels per acre            

The winners received a trophy, prizes from some of the 10 soybean seed companies and $1,000 of reimbursed expenses to the 2017 Commodity Classic in San Antonio. The top 10 farmers who achieved an 80-bushel yield or higher will receive additional prizes. All farmers who completed the contest received a personalized hat, other prizes from soybean seed companies and their entry fee applied toward a 2017 membership in the Michigan Soybean Association. 

Participating seed companies included Asgrow, Channel, CPS, Dairyland, Mycogen, NK Syngenta, Pioneer, Renk, Specialty and Stine. A summary of the entire contest will be published in the Spring Michigan Soybean News magazine.

For more information about the contest results or inquiries about a 2017 contest, contact Birkey of Spartan Ag at [email protected].







Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like