Farm Futures logo

Moore is Illinois soybean farmer.

December 9, 2016

2 Min Read

Illinois soybean farmer Ron Moore is the new president of the American Soybean Association. He assumed the role this week at the organization's annual winter meeting in St. Louis. Moore served as the organization's vice president in 2016.

"The industry faces many challenges and many opportunities in the year to come, and I am excited to tackle all of them," Moore said. "As we work to advance farmer priorities on our most important issues like trade, biotechnology and others. I look forward to drawing on the multiple talents of our dedicated board of directors to continue our success for soybean farmers."


Elected to fill the role of ASA vice president is John Heisdorffer, a farmer from Keota, Iowa, placing him in line to become ASA's President in 2018. Heisdorffer previously served as ASA secretary.

"This is an organization that, as it approaches its 100th anniversary, only becomes more impactful and more important as a voice for farmers," Heisdorffer said. "We've come very far, but there is still so much work to do to make sure that all soybean farmers have the policy and regulation and market conditions in place to succeed. I am excited to work over the coming years to see that through."

Richard Wilkins, who farms in Greenwood, Del., and served in 2016 as ASA's president, now moves to the role of chairman, and outgoing Chairman Wade Cowan of Brownfield, Texas, rotates off the Governing Committee. Davie Stephens, of Wingo, Ky., will serve a third consecutive term as ASA's secretary, and Bill Gordon, of Worthington, Minn., was elected to the position of ASA treasurer. Bret Davis, of Delaware, Ohio; Kevin Scott, of Valley Springs, S.D.; Sam Butler, of New Hope, Ala.; and Eric Maupin, of Dyersburg, Tenn., were elected as at-large members of ASA's Governing Committee.

Also at the meeting, the ASA board celebrated retiring directors Mike Cunningham, of Illinois, Ray Gaesser and Mark Jackson, of Iowa, Kevin Hoyer and Dan Roe, of Wisconsin, Ted Glaub, of Arkansas, Lance Peterson, of Minnesota and Wyatt Whitford, of North Carolina. ASA welcomed new directors Stan Born, of Dunlap, Ill.; Brad Doyle, of Weiner, Ark.; Morey Hill, of Madris, Iowa; Brian Kemp, of Sibley, Iowa; Brad Kremer, of Pittsville, Wis.; Kurt Krueger, of Rothsay, Minn.; Don Lutz, of Scandinavia, Wis.; Brian Ogletree, of Milner, Ga.; Bill Raben, of Ridgeway, Ill.; Rob Shaffer, of El Paso, Ill. and Jimmy Thomas, of Timberlake, N.C.

Source: ASA

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like