Farm Progress

David Williams and James Domagalski join Herb Miller on national USB

November 13, 2016

2 Min Read

Michigan soybean farmers have their checkoff interests represented at the state level by the Michigan Soybean Promotion Committee (MSPC) and by the United Soybean Board (USB) at the national level. New appointments were made recently to both boards.

At the state level, MSPC appointments are made by Governor Snyder and there are seven farmer directors who serve on this board.

George Zmitko of Owosso represented District 6 (Clinton, Ionia, Genesee and Shiawassee counties) and recently served tenure on the board. George stated, “I appreciate having had the opportunity to serve Michigan’s soybean farmers on the MSPC as a director in both the secretary and treasurer positions.”


The Governor named R. Alan Moore of Bannister as Zmitko’s successor in District 6. Moore has farmed for over 45 years. He previously served on the MSPC board and has also served on USB, North Central Soybean Research Program (NCSRP) board and National Biodiesel Board (NBB). Moore says, “It is my goal to help others in farming and to share my knowledge with my fellow farmers. I believe we can grow well together if we share our knowledge. I look forward to serving again on the MSPC.”

In District 7, Governor Snyder reappointed Steve Koeman of Hamilton for a second three-year term. Steve has farmed for 25 years and raises soybeans, corn and hogs. Steve says, “I’ve enjoyed serving the first term on the MSPC and look forward to what this next term will bring. I like promoting soybean uses and exports for Michigan’s farmers.”

At the national level, USB appointments are made by the United States Department of Agriculture – Agricultural Marketing Service (USDA-AMS) Agriculture Secretary, Tom Vilsack. Michigan soybean farmers are represented on USB with three board seats.

David Williams of Elsie and James Domagalski of Columbus were recently reappointed to the board. Both will serve an additional three-year term through December 2019.

Williams has been farming for 26 years and grows soybeans, corn and soft red winter wheat. Additionally, he is the current president of the Michigan Soybean Association.

Domagalski has farmed for over 30 years and raises corn, soybeans and wheat. Beyond his service on USB, he has also served on the MSPC, NBB and United States Soybean Export Council (USSEC).

Williams and Domagalski serve alongside Herb Miller of Niles on the board.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like