The Farmer Logo

Beltrami farmer elected Minnesota Soybean presidentBeltrami farmer elected Minnesota Soybean president

The association’s soybean farmers meet for the first time in person since 2019.

July 19, 2021

2 Min Read
Mike Skaug
NEW LEADERSHIP: Mike Skaug, Beltrami, Minn., was recently elected president of the Minnesota Soybean Growers Association.Minnesota Soybean

Mike Skaug of Polk County was named president of the Minnesota Soybean Growers Association during a recent in-person board meeting.

“I’m humbled and honored my fellow directors have put their confidence in me to lead this storied organization,” said Skaug, who served two years as vice president and helped lead MSGA’s advocacy strategizing in St. Paul. “I’m eager to hit the ground running to advocate for our members and promote policies that will improve the profitability outlook for Minnesota farmers.”

Skaug is also chair of the Ag Innovation Campus in Crookston. He farms alongside his son, Ryan, on their fifth-generation farm near Beltrami. He joined the MSGA board in 2012 and later served as treasurer before becoming vice president in 2019. Skaug replaces Jamie Beyer, who stepped down after two years as president.

“I have big shoes to fill,” Skaug says. “Jamie has a lot of talent and has done such a great job of explaining complicated issues to folks. She’s been a huge asset to MSGA.”

Beyer’s tenure was highlighted by the passage of full Section 179 conformity in October 2020, and she helped lead MSGA’s transition to virtual advocacy following the onset of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Beyer will remain a director and was also elected to the Ag Management Solutions board, which oversees MSGA’s daily operations.

Lake Benton farmer Bob Worth moved from treasurer to vice president. Wells farmer Darin Johnson was elected treasurer and Ryan Mackenthun of Brownton was named secretary. Strathcona grower Jim Kukowski and Brewster farmer Chris Hill were both reelected to the American Soybean Association, which advocates for growers at the federal level. ASA chair and former President Bill Gordon, Brewster, is retiring from ASA at the end of the year. He will be replaced by Adam Guetter, Wabasso, a past ASA Young Leader.

Former MSGA President Paul Freeman, who was elected earlier this year to the Minnesota Soybean Research and Promotion Council, is leaving MSGA after more than a decade on the board.

MSGA is the nation’s oldest soybean advocacy organization and the first affiliate of the ASA. Fueled by its grassroots membership base since 1962, MSGA will celebrate its 60th anniversary in 2022.

Source: Minnesota Soybean, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all of its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.



Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like