The Farmer Logo

35th class of ASA Young Leaders begin leadership journey

Representatives from 19 states and the Grain Farmers of Ontario participated in the program.

December 18, 2018

2 Min Read

The 35th class of American Soybean Association Corteva Agriscience, Agriculture Division of DowDuPont Young Leaders began their leadership journey at the Corteva Agriscience Global Business Center in Johnston, Iowa.

The Johnston training session was the first phase of the program designed to identify future grower leaders within the agriculture community and provide them with opportunities to enhance their skills and network with other farmers. Representatives from 19 states and the Grain Farmers of Ontario participated in the program. Young Leaders participated in communications training, discussed CRISPR technology, consumer trends and other soybean industry advancements.

“The Young Leader Program has had a huge impact on not only ASA, but all of agriculture,” said ASA President and Iowa farmer John Heisdorffer. “Former Young Leaders can be found in leadership roles throughout the industry and public policy. We are grateful to Corteva Agriscience for making this program possible. The Young Leader program provides training in key leadership areas and allows participants to form lasting relationships with growers from across the country, which strengthens our industry and allows us to work collaboratively in our local, state and national organizations.”

“Corteva Agriscience always strives to put the farmer-first in all that we do,” said Judd O’Connor, President, U.S. Commercial Business, Corteva Agriscience, Agriculture Division of Dow DuPont. “Having young leaders who are willing and well-equipped to speak up for agriculture is critical in helping to ensure the voice of farmers is part of the conversation among the public and the full value chain.”

The 2019 Young Leaders:

  • Stuart and Suzie Sanderson, Alabama;

  • Kyle and Stacie Schlenker, Arkansas;

  • Austin and Katelynn Baer, Miranda Biddle, and Tim and Brittany Gueldener, all of Illinois;

  • Eric and Megan Scheller, Indiana;

  • Reed Burres, Iowa;

  • Tyler Cvitkovic and Anna Redding, both of Kentucky;

  • Jason Putt and Adam Vance, Ohio;

  • Kody Beavers, Louisiana;

  • Chris and Debra Schmidt and Mark and Vanessa Senk, all of Michigan;

  • Wes Miller and Amanda Heilman, Maryland;

  • Haley Ammann and Andrew and Heidi Pulk, all of Minnesota;

  • Mitchell and Andrea Rice and Nathan White, all of Missouri;

  • Clint and Katie Hostlerm Nebraska;

  • Simeon Williams, North Carolina;

  • Joshua Askew and Joshua Stutrud, North Dakota;

  • Brent and Mollie Greenway, South Dakota;

  • Derek and Micayla Giffin, Tennessee;

  • Donald Thomas, Virginia;

  • Zac Soltvedt and Amber Bellows, Wisconsin;

  • Aaron McQueen, Canada.

This second phase of the Young Leader program is Feb. 26 – March 1, 2019, in Orlando, Fla., with training held in conjunction with the annual Commodity Classic Convention and Trade Show.

Source: American Soybean Assocation

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like

Aug 29 - Aug 31, 2023
Farm Progress Show annually hosts more than 600 exhibitors displaying new farm equipment, tractors, combines and farm implements; seed and crop protection products; and many additional farm supplies and services.