South West Farm Press Logo

NSP Board elects new leadershipNSP Board elects new leadership

Producers Kody Carson and Craig Meeker to lead board, new directors appointed

Jennifer Warren

October 7, 2020

3 Min Read
Shelley E. Huguley

The National Sorghum Producers (NSP) Board of Directors recently elected Kody Carson, Olton, Texas, as board chairman and Craig Meeker, Wellington, Kan., as vice chairman. Dan Atkisson was re-appointed to the board and will transition to the role of past chairman.


”Kody and Craig are strong leaders who will guide our board and industry with intelligence and grit,” Atkisson said. “I look forward to seeing the growth and continued excellence of NSP under their leadership.”

The board also elected new directors Marc Adams, Lubbock, Texas, and Jay Wilder, Snook, Texas, who will serve three-year terms, respectively, beginning Oct. 1.

Adams is the regional vice president for CoBank and serves as an ambassador for an internal program to advance knowledge and understanding of legislative issues that affect Farm Credit and rural America. He is a member of the Texas Agricultural Cooperative Council and also serves on the Texas Grain Sorghum Producers Association board.

Wilder is a diversified crop and livestock producer. He grows sorghum, cotton, wheat and soybeans and raises Limousin cattle on a farm that has been in his family since 1912. He has served on many state and national agriculture boards, including the U.S. Grains Council and as chairman of the Texas Grain Sorghum Association.

“Marc and Jay both bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to the board in their respective areas,” said NSP CEO Tim Lust. “We look forward to the contributions they will offer as we confront issues like international trade, the farm economy and other policy initiatives that are important to U.S. sorghum farmers.”

The NSP board of directors also recognized two sorghum industry leaders who ended their board terms Sept. 30. Don Bloss, Pawnee City, Neb., has served on the board since 2012. He served as chairman from 2016 to 2018 and as past chairman from 2018 to 2020. Larry Dahlsten, Lindsborg, Kan., has served on the board since 2014.

“We are greatly appreciative of the leadership and guidance Don and Larry have provided through their years of service,” said Atkisson. “Their dedication to improving all aspects of the sorghum industry is evident by their passion and the time they have devoted on behalf of sorghum farmers nationwide and to the betterment of our organization.”

New directors and officers took their respective positions on the NSP board Oct. 1.

2021 Legislative Committee

Oct. 6, Carson named two new members to the NSP Legislative Committee, Shelby Britten, Haswell, Colorado, and Matt Braun, Hobart, Oklahoma. Meeker will assume the role as committee chairman.

“We have a diverse and dedicated legislative committee with a passion for serving the sorghum industry and building relationships that lead to positive legislative and regulatory change,” Carson said. “I am excited to see the unique perspectives our new members and committee chairman will bring as we head into the post-election season and a new congress.”

The 2021 National Sorghum Producers Legislative Committee members are as follows:

  • Mike Baker, Trenton, Neb.

  • Matt Braun, Hobart, Okla.

  • Shelby Britten, Haswell, Colo.

  • Brittan Gruhlkey, Wildorado, Texas

  • Don Hineman, Dighton, Kan.

  • John Lowery, Rayville, La.

  • Ethan Miller, Columbia, Mo.

  • Adam Schindler, Reliance, S.D.

  • Jim Sipes, Manter, Kan.

  • John Williams, Enfield, Ill.

  • Kent Winter, Mount Hope, Kan.

  • Chris Yaklin, Robstown, Texas

More information about sorghum producer leaders can be found at

Source: is National Sorghum Producers, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.

About the Author(s)

Jennifer Warren

Vice President of Communications, National Sorghum Producers

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like