Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: KS

National Sorghum Producers present congressional award

Roger Marshall, center, received the Sorghum Congressional Award for his outstanding service to sorghum producers. Presenting the award were Dan Atkisson, NSP Chairman, left and Amy France, NSP board director
TOP HONOR: Rep. Roger Marshall (center) receives the Sorghum Congressional Award for his outstanding service to sorghum producers. Presenting the award was NSP Chairman Dan Atkisson (left) and NSP Board Director Amy France.
The top sorghum award was presented to Reps. Roger Marshall and Colin Peterson.

Rep. Roger Marshall, R-Kan., joined Rep. Collin Peterson, D-Minn., in receiving the top honor that the National Sorghum Producers presents to individuals who have provided above-and-beyond service to sorghum producers, and for writing and implementing legislation to create farm policy that benefits sorghum growers.

The Sorghum Congressional Award for 2019 was presented to Peterson and Marshall during the annual NSP fly-in in Washington, D.C., during the first week of February.

Marshall was recognized for his representation of farmers in the U.S. Sorghum Belt. Marshall represents the first district of Kansas, the largest sorghum producing state in the nation, and has advocated for sorghum producers through the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s approval of a sorghum oil pathway, Renewable Fuels Standard policies and working to find resolutions during the China tariff issue.

“I represent the largest sorghum producing district in the U.S. I know how important this crop is to my farmers and the role it plays in our nation’s food, fuel, and fiber sources,” Marshall says. “I have enjoyed working with the NSP and sorghum growers across my district on issues of trade, renewable fuels, and regulatory rollback.” 

“Congressman Marshall represents a large number of our grower members in Kansas and has been a powerful advocate for the Kansas Big First,” according to Dan Atkisson, NSP chairman and a sorghum producer from Stockton. “We appreciate his relentless efforts to be a champion for sorghum and the Kansas farmers he represents.”

The NSP board of directors recognized Peterson for his support and leadership crafting the 2018 Farm Bill that provided effective risk management tools, advances in conservation policy and continued support for sorghum ethanol production.

House Agriculture Committee Chairman Collin Peterson, (D-MN), left, receives the Sorghum Congressional Award from NSP Chairman, Dan Atkisson during a Washington, D.C. Fly-In. Peterson was recognized for his work in crafting the 2018 Farm BillHONORED: Rep. Collin Peterson (left) receives the Sorghum Congressional Award from NSP Chairman Dan Atkisson during a Washington, D.C., Fly-In. The House Agriculture Committee chairman was recognized for his work in crafting the 2018 Farm Bill.

“Chairman Peterson has been a true and devoted champion for U.S. agriculture,” Atkisson said. “His leadership through the 2018 Farm Bill provided certainty producers needed during a trying time, and he has remained a steadfast voice of reason throughout his tenure on the House Agriculture Committee.”

Past recipients of the sorghum congressional award can be found online.

NSP represents U.S. sorghum producers and serves as the voice of the sorghum industry coast to coast through legislative representation, regulatory representation and education. To learn more about NSP, visit

This article contains information supplied by National Sorghum Producers.

TAGS: awards
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.