Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IA
Iowa State University professor Sue Lamont is presented the Lamplighter Award by John Prestage of the U.S. Poultry & Egg Association ISU
HONORED: Iowa State University professor Sue Lamont was recently presented the Lamplighter Award by John Prestage, chairman of the U.S. Poultry & Egg Association.

ISU’s Lamont honored with national award

Animal science professor recognized for service to poultry and egg industry.

Iowa State University professor of animal science Sue Lamont recently received the Lamplighter Award from the U.S. Poultry & Egg Association. Presented to Lamont and five others at the 2020 International Poultry Expo, the award honors individuals for “sustained and exemplary service to the poultry and egg industry.”

Lamont has been on the ISU faculty since 1983. She recently served as interim director of the Egg Industry Center at ISU. She has received numerous awards, including the Helene Cecil Leadership Award, the Embrex-Pfizer Fundamental Science Award, the Merck Award for Achievement from the Poultry Science Association and the Midwest Poultry Consortium Outstanding Service Award. A Curtiss distinguished professor, she is an elected fellow of three professional societies: The Poultry Science Association, International Society of Animal Genetics and American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Emerging leader class named

In other poultry industry news, the Iowa Poultry Association announced the names of participants in its 2020 Emerging Leader Program. Those chosen are:

  • Brandon Baumhover of Sunrise Farms
  • Aaron Bruce of Daybreak Foods Inc.
  • Chris Doyle of Summit Livestock Facilities
  • Kylee Geppert of Center Fresh Group
  • Jay Halliday of  Epitopix
  • Greg Hanson of Sparboe
  • Evan Hayes of Fremont Farms of Iowa
  • Curtis Johnson of Oskaloosa Foods
  • Morgan Link of Hy-Line North America
  • Carrie McFarland of H&N North America
  • Justin Mehalic of MOBA
  • Kayla Neil of Hy-Line International
  • Dave Nicks of Georgia Poultry
  • Amalie Saboe of Rembrandt Foods
  • Zachary Simons of Nova-Tech Engineering
  • Issa Sommer of Engrain
  • Steve Welch of Hendrix Genetics

The Iowa Poultry Association Emerging Leader Program aids in building individuals who wish to contribute to the future of the poultry industry through growth in their personal careers. The program offers a blend of industry networking and educational events targeted specifically to the Emerging Leader group.

Cultivating next generation

Experiences will include Iowa and other poultry industry educational meetings, an Emerging Leader Tour Day, webinars, board meeting attendance, public policy briefings, networking and social activities.

“This program through IPA has been and will continue to help us recognize the up-and-comers in the poultry industry, creating a new generation of leaders in our organization,” says J.T. Dean, president of IPA.

Kevin Stiles, executive director of IPA, says, “We have a great group of talented individuals and a great blend of allied and producer members in this class. I look forward to the coming year of events and development, and professional growth for this group. Feedback from our previous two classes has been very positive, and I’m excited for this program to grow in 2020.”

For information, contact Sarah Bowman at Founded in 1929, IPA is a nonprofit association focused on poultry industry leadership, support, advocacy and education.

Source: IPA, which is solely responsible for information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content in this information asset.


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.