Farm Progress

Donald Chase wins Georgia Peanut Commission electionDonald Chase wins Georgia Peanut Commission election

May 26, 2004

1 Min Read

The Georgia Peanut Commission announces Donald Chase of Macon County as the new District Five board member-elect for a three-year term. Chase defeated Jimmy Thompson of Randolph County, 56.39 percent to 43.61 percent after a 30-day balloting period, which ended April 30.

Chase succeeds Wilbur Gamble of Terrell County, who did not seek re-election.

Chase farms 1,150 acres including 260 acres of peanuts. He also produces corn, sweet corn, wheat, vegetables and poultry. He serves on the board of directors of the Macon County Farm Bureau and previously served on the Georgia Agricultural Commodity Commission for Corn.

Chase will serve a three-year term.

District Five represents the counties of Chattahoochee, Clay, Lee, Macon, Marion, Peach, Quitman, Randolph, Schley, Stewart, Talbot, Taylor, Terrell and Webster counties.

The Georgia Peanut Commission represents all peanut growers in the state of Georgia and carries out programs in the areas of research, education and promotion. The Georgia Peanut Commission Board of Directors represents Georgia's 5,000 peanut farmers.

Current members on the board include Chairman Jimmy Cheney of Calhoun County, District 1; Armond Morris of Irwin County, District 2; Commission Vice Chairman Joe Boddiford, Screven County, District 3 and Commission Treasurer Rodney Dawson of Pulaski County, District 4.

Morris and Dawson who also were re-elected without opposition were sworn in for another three-year term at the Georgia Peanut Commission May board meeting.

Subscribe to receive top agriculture news
Be informed daily with these free e-newsletters

You May Also Like