Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

Peanut Board members, alternates named

Agriculture Secretary Thomas J. Vilsack has appointed four members and four alternate members to serve on the National Peanut Board. All of the appointments are three-year terms that begin Jan. 1, 2010, and end on Dec. 31, 2012.

The following members and alternate member were reappointed: John Harrell of Whigham, Ga., and Edward M. Rast Jr., Cameron, S.C., members; Francis V. Jordan III, Rayville, La., at-large member; and John F. Shackelford, Mer Rouge, La., at-large alternate.

The following member and three alternate members were newly appointed: Bob White, Clarendon, Texas, member; and Andy Bell, Climax, Ga., Corrin F. Bowers Jr., Estill, S.C., and Peter Froese Jr., Seminole, Texas, alternate members.

USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service provides oversight of the National Peanut Board in accordance with the Commodity Promotion Research, and Information Act of 1996 and the Peanut Promotion, Research, and Information Order.

Under the order, domestic producers pay an assessment at the rate of 1 percent of the total value of all farmers' stock peanuts sold. The funds collected are used to conduct generic promotion, research, and consumer and producer information designed to strengthen the position of peanuts in the marketplace, and to maintain, develop and expand markets for peanuts.

More information about the research and promotion programs can be found at

TAGS: Peanuts
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.