Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: Central
brad-haire-farm-press-peanut-hand-aa.JPG Brad Haire
Missouri to be considered primary peanut producing state.

Missouri considered primary peanut-producing state

April 21 remote election set for nominees to National Peanut Board

The Missouri Peanut Producers Association will hold an organizational meeting Tuesday, April 21, at 1:00 p.m. CDT to form a Certified Peanut Producers Organization (CPPO), followed by a nominations election to select two nominees each for member and alternate to the National Peanut Board.

Due to the national pandemic, the nominations election will be held remotely. The telephone call-in number is 1-800-309-2350; Access Code 958 8283 #. The # sign is required after entry of the access code.

The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) rule, which will be effective April 22, 2020 to add the state of Missouri as a primary peanut-producing state under the Peanut Promotion, Research and Information Order (Order). The Order is administered by the National Peanut Board.

This rule also adds a seat on the National Peanut Board for Missouri. Under the Order, primary peanut-producing states must maintain a three-year average production of at least 10,000 tons of peanuts.  Missouri’s peanut production meets this requirement.

Primary peanut-producing states also have a seat on the Board. This action was recommended by the Board and ensures the Board’s representation reflects changes in the geographical distribution of the production of peanuts.

Currently, the Board includes 12 producer-members and alternates: One member and alternate from each primary producing state and one at-large member and alternate collectively from the minor peanut-producing states.  This rule classifies the state of Missouri as a primary peanut-producing state and specifies the Board will be composed of 13 peanut producer-members and their alternates rather than 12. The members and alternates are nominated by state producers or producer groups.

All eligible peanut producers are encouraged to participate. Eligible producers are those who are engaged in the production and sale of peanuts and who own or share the ownership and risk of loss of the crop. Eligible candidates must be current on their assessment payments to the National Peanut Board and, if nominated, be willing to undergo a Federal background check. National Peanut Board member and alternate positions are unpaid.

USDA requires two nominees from each state for each position of member and alternate. The National Peanut Board will submit Missouri’s slate of nominees to the U. S. Secretary of Agriculture, who makes the appointments.

Anyone interested in being nominated as a National Peanut Board member or alternate may call in to the meeting at the number above or contact Maria Mehok 678-424-5755 or by email at for information prior to April 21.



Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.