Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

Outstanding achievement recognized at APRES 50th annual meeting

Outgoing President Peter Dotray, left, accepts a plaque from new APRES President Rick Brandenburg in recognition of his service.
Outstanding achievements recognized at 50th APRES annual awards program

The last order of business for the 50th Annual American Peanut Research and Education Society meeting was to recognize outstanding achievements.

APRES President Peter Dotray presented these awards:

Bailey Award

Mark Burow, Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Texas Tech University

Joe Sugg Graduate Student Competition

  • First Place – D.J. Mahoney, North Carolina State University
  • Second Place - K.M. Eason, The University of Georgia
  • Third Place - S. Lamon, The University of Georgia

Corteva Agriscience Agriculture Division of DowDuPont Awards

  • Research-Barry Tillman, University of Florida
  • Education-Peggy Ozias-Akins, University of Georgia

Graduate Student Poster Competition

  • First Place - C.C. Weaver, University of Georgia
  • Second Place - J.M. Haynes, Clemson University

Coyt T. Wilson Distinguished Service Award

Craig K. Kvien, University of Georgia

Corley Holbrook, USDA-ARS, received a special peanut poster in recognition of his contributions on the APRES board. And Rick Brandenburg, new APRES President, presented Dotray with a plaque in recognition of his service.

TAGS: Outlook
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.