is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
National Peanut Board

National Peanut Board gets appointments

Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue has appointed five members and six alternates to serve on the National Peanut Board.

Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue has appointed five members and six alternates to serve on the National Peanut Board. The appointees will serve three-year terms that began Jan. 1 and end Dec. 31, 2020.

Newly appointed members are Tom Corcoran of Eufaula, Ala., William T. Carter of Live Oak, Fla. and Paul Rogers of Wakefield, Va. Newly appointed alternates are Thomas Adams of Newville, Ala., Jeremy Rolling of Westville, Fla., Westley B. Drake of Newsoms, Va. and Jeff Roper of Lubbock, Texas (one-year term).

Reappointed members are Joe H. Morgan of Hattiesburg, Miss. and Dan Ward of Clarkton, N.C. Reappointed alternates are Lonnie Fortner of Port Gibson, Miss. and Raymond P. Garner, Jr. of Roanoke Rapids, N.C.

 “Research and consumer education are keys to growing the $1 billion peanut industry in America,” said Perdue. “Both the new and continuing members of the board bring great insight to this work from their many years of experience helping America’s 7,000 peanut-farming families improve production practices and continue to produce the world’s highest-quality peanut product for people around the globe.”

The board is composed of 12 producer members and their alternates. Eleven members and alternates are from the primary peanut producing states of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas and Virginia. An at-large member and alternate represent the minor peanut producing states.


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.