Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: West

New Farm Credit Council officers

M. Wayne Lambertson of Pocomoke City, Maryland., has been elected chairman of the Farm Credit Council board of directors.

Lambertson owns and operates a 2,700-acre farm on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. He grows corn, wheat and soybeans and also has a 300,000-broiler operation. He currently serves on the boards of Mid-Atlantic Farm Credit, ACA, AgFirst Farm Credit Bank, and the Delmarva Poultry Industry, a trade organization.

Gordon Carter, has been elected vice-chairman. Carter and his son own and operate a 360-acre farm in Gaston, Ind. He represents the AgriBank District Farm Credit Council and is chairman of Farm Credit Services of Mid-America, ACA, Louisville, Kentucky.

In addition to Lambertson and Carter, the following members of the Board of Directors were elected to the Executive Committee: J. Roy Orton, Ripley, N.Y., representing CoBank; Orton serves as Chairman of the CoBank board of directors and is a grape producer in Western, N.Y.; Mike Garnett, Spearman, Texas, representing the Tenth District Council; Garnett is a crop and livestock producer; Dr. Edward Schenk, Chickasha, Okla., serves on the executive committee as the past chairman of the Farm Credit Council. Schenk represents U.S. AgBank, FCB, and is a crop and livestock producer and veterinarian.

The Farm Credit Council Board of Directors is a 23-member board comprised of representatives from the five-Farm Credit Banks and District Councils. Along with the executive committee members, the following serve on the Farm Credit Council Board: Kenneth Andrews, Madisonville, Texas, Tenth District Farm Credit Council; Bill Bess, Lincolnton, N.C., AgFirst DFCC; Robert Carson, Marks, Miss., AgFirst DFCC; Earl Dolcini, Petaluma, Calif., U.S. AgBank, DFCC, Myron Edleman, Watertown, S.D., AgriBank DFCC; Jimmy Eller, Oktaha, Okla., U.S. AgBank DFCC; Arlen Gilbertson, Parshall, N.D., AgriBank DFCC; Curtis Hancock, Fulton, Ky., AgFirst DFCC; Lyndon Limberg, Gary, S.D., AgriBank, DFCC; Donald Ludy, Bakersfield, Calif., U.S. AgBank, DFCC; Gary Matteson, Epsom, N.H., CoBank; Bruce Nelson, Farmington, Wash., CoBank; Sheldon Richins, Henefer, Utah, U.S. AgBank DFCC; Ron Schuler, Lincoln, Calif., CoBank; Leland Strom, Elgin, Ill., AgriBank DFCC; Robert Tetrault, Portland, Maine, CoBank; Meredith Yarick, Hume, Mo., AgriBank DFCC; and Ray Young, Wisner, La., Tenth DFCC.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.