is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

Farm Bureau elects grassroots leaders

The American Farm Bureau Federation recently elected new members to the organization’s board of directors and filled several other positions during the annual meeting held in Atlanta.

Delegates at the American Farm Bureau Federation’s 92nd Annual Meeting elected four state Farm Bureau presidents to the AFBF board of directors: Blake Hurst of Missouri for the Midwest region; Pat Langenfelder of Maryland for the Northeast region; Randy Knight of Mississippi for the Southern region; and Paul Wenger of California for the Western region.

Fourteen other state Farm Bureau presidents were re-elected to represent their regions on the AFBF board of directors:

Midwest region — Craig Lang, Iowa, Keith Olsen, Nebraska, Don Villwock, Indiana, and Wayne Wood, Michigan.

Northeast region — Dean Norton, New York, and Carl Shaffer, Pennsylvania.

Southern region — Ronnie Anderson, Louisiana, Kenneth Dierschke, Texas, Zippy Duval, Georgia, Mike Spradling, Oklahoma, Lacy Upchurch, Tennessee, and Larry Wooten, North Carolina.

Western region — Perry Livingston, Wyoming, and Michael White, New Mexico.

Ben LaCross, a Michigan grower of cherries, plums and apples, was elected the new chairman of the Young Farmers & Ranchers Committee. He also will sit on the AFBF board of directors during his one-year term, which begins in February.

Terry Gilbert, a corn and cattle producer from Kentucky, and Sherry Saylor, a cotton producer from Arizona, were re-elected as chair and vice-chair of the Women’s Leadership Committee for two-year terms. Gilbert also will continue as a member of the AFBF board of directors. The committee re-nominated and the AFBF delegate body re-elected Helen Norris of Kansas, Ginny Paarlberg of Florida, Ethel Nash of West Virginia and Angela Ryden of Colorado to the committee for two-year terms.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.