Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: East

Veneman names Cotton Board members

Agriculture Secretary Ann M. Veneman announced on Jan. 3 the appointment of 18 members and 18 alternate members to the Cotton Board. The Cotton Board consists of 34 members, their alternates and one consumer advisor and is authorized by the Cotton Research and Promotion Act of 1966. Members of the board represent cotton producers, importers and consumers.

"I am pleased that these individuals have agreed to serve and provide their expertise to the program," says Veneman. The members and alternates named today will serve a three-year term ending Dec. 31, 2007.

The reappointed members are: Larkin Martin, Courtland, Ala.; John Clark, Los Angeles, Calif.; Aaron Barcellos, Los Banos, Calif.; Werner Bieri, Maysville, Ga.; A. Mark Neuman, Champaign, Ill.; Jimmie Johnson, Vanduser, Mo.; William Ahrens, Malaga, N.M.; Francis Kelly, New York, N.Y.; Nancy Marino, Upper Brookville, N.Y.; Arthur James, Jr., Sumter, S.C.; Kent Nix, Lamesa, Texas; Craig Shook, Corpus Christi, Texas; Kenneth Dierschke, San Angelo, Texas; Peter McGrath, Plano, Texas; John Thomas, Woodinville, Wash.;

The re?appointed alternate members are: Walter Corcoran Jr., Eufaula, Ala.; Richard L. Moss, Doerun, Ga.; Edward Dement, Sikeston, Mo.; Andrew Boguszewski, Basking Ridge, N.J.; Larry Parker, Hobbs, N.M.; Dale Player, Bishopville, S.C.; Larry Rice; Covington, Tenn.

The newly appointed members are: Van Murphy, Quitman, Ga.; Robert Robbins, Altus, Okla.; Willie German Jr., Somerville, Tenn.

The newly appointed alternate members are: Helena Gadison, Springdale, Ark.; Mark Hansen, Hanford, Calif.; Robert Miller, Wellington, Kan.; Yvonne Anderson, Minneapolis, Minn.; James Danahy, Greensboro, N.C.; Mathew Gluckson, White Plains, N.Y.; Arlene Eastwood, Jackson, N.J.; Theodore Sattler, Chappaqua, N.Y.; Jackie Burris, Wellman, Texas; Debra Barrett, Edroy, Texas; Jeffery Posey, Roby, Texas.

The cotton research and promotion program is designed to advance the position of cotton in the marketplace. It is funded by a mandatory assessment on all domestically produced cotton and imports of foreign-produced cotton and cotton-containing products. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service monitors the program.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.