is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist

Neugebauer announces disaster declaration

WASHINGTON - Congressman Randy Neugebauer announced Wednesday that USDA has designated several West Texas counties as primary agricultural disaster areas due to last year's drought.

Neugebauer said that Bailey, Hale, Cochran, Lamb, Lynn, Terry, Yoakum, and Lubbock Counties are being given the disaster declaration, which makes farmers in those areas eligible for emergency loans. Late last year, the USDA declared a number of Texas counties as disaster areas due to hail damage.

"I've heard from several farmers who have been waiting for this declaration in order to obtain a loan to finance this year's crop," said Neugebauer. "I encourage farmers who need these emergency loans to apply at their county FSA office as soon as possible."

This drought severely reduced last year's yields for most West Texas producers. The designation makes all qualified farm operators in these counties eligible for low-interest emergency (EM) loans from the Farm Service Agency, provided eligibility requirements are met.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for the loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs available, in addition to the emergency loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

USDA has also made other programs available to assist farmers and ranchers, including the Emergency Conservation Program, Federal Crop Insurance and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program.

Interested farmers should contact their local FSA Service Centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at:


Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.