is part of the Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

  • American Agriculturist
  • Beef Producer
  • Corn and Soybean Digest
  • Dakota Farmer
  • Delta Farm Press
  • Farm Futures
  • Farm Industry news
  • Indiana Prairie Farmer
  • Kansas Farmer
  • Michigan Farmer
  • Missouri Ruralist
  • Nebraska Farmer
  • Ohio Farmer
  • Prairie Farmer
  • Southeast Farm Press
  • Southwest Farm Press
  • The Farmer
  • Wallaces Farmer
  • Western Farm Press
  • Western Farmer Stockman
  • Wisconsin Agriculturist
Corn+Soybean Digest

NCGA Hopeful Progress Will Be Made On the Farm Bill

The National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) is pleased that members of the Senate Agriculture Committee named farm bill conferees. Senate Agriculture Committee Chairman Tom Harkin (D-IA) will chair the conference committee. The House has not yet named their conferees.

“NCGA is encouraged by the selection of the Senate farm bill conference committee members,” says NCGA President Ron Litterer. “Corn growers need a farm bill that delivers a more market-oriented safety net that ensures assistance when it is most needed. We hope this farm bill includes an improved risk management tool for our growers.”

The list of democratic senators selected for the conference committee include: Senate Finance Committee Chairman Max Baucus (MT), Senate Budget Committee Chairman Kent Conrad (ND); Senate Judiciary Committee Chairman Patrick Leahy (VT); Senate Agriculture Committee member Blanche Lincoln (AR); and Senate Agriculture Committee member Senator Debbie Stabenow (MI).

The following republican senators were selected for the conference committee: ranking member Saxby Chambliss (GA), former Senate Agriculture Committee Chairman Richard Lugar (IN), Senate Finance Committee ranking member Charles Grassley (IA); Senate Appropriations Committee ranking member Thad Cochran (MS); and Senator Pat Roberts (KS).

Continue reading more about NCGA Hopeful Progress

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.