Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

NCGA Honors Stenholm with President’s Award

WASHINGTON – The National Corn Growers Association has presented Rep. Charles Stenholm, D-Texas, its prestigious NCGA President’s Award for his steadfast support and true commitment to U.S. corn growers.

“Rep. Stenholm was chosen to receive the 2004 President’s Award because of his bipartisan leadership role in the shaping of today’s farm bill and farm programs,” said NCGA President Dee Vaughan, a grower from Dumas, Texas. “His staunch support for corn growers as well as cotton growers, ranchers and other producers throughout the U.S. has earned him thanks and respect from all concerned with U.S. agriculture.”

Stenholm received the award at the recent NCGA’s Corn Congress in Washington. The agenda involved state delegates storming the Hill to inform members of Congress and staff on issues important to corn growers, electing new officers and ratifying the election of Gerald Tumbleson to first vice president.

"I am extremely honored to receive the President's Award from the National Corn Growers Association,” said Stenholm. “I appreciate the leadership that Dee Vaughan has shown during his term as president. I have also been pleased to support many of the priorities that NCGA members and staff have advocated for on behalf of America's corn growers.

“On top of that list, I was an original co-sponsor of the VEETC legislation introduced in the House, and I supported the NCGA's efforts to enact a Renewable Fuel Standard for the last several years.”

“It has been a privilege to work with Rep. Stenholm and the House Agriculture Committee,” said Vaughan. “Stenholm supports common sense regulations and government and, as one of the few farmers in Congress, his door has always been open to NCGA and its members.

Previous recipients of NCGA’s President’s Award include Leo Liebowitz, chairman and CEO of Getty Petroleum Marketing, Inc.; Sens. Kit Bond, R-Mo., Tom Harkin, D-Iowa, Charles Grassley, R-Iowa, George Voinovich, R-Ohio, and Senate Minority Leader Tom Daschle, D-S.D., and House Speaker Dennis Hastert, R-Ill.

e-mail: [email protected]

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.