Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Weed Science Society honors individuals

Andy_Di/ThinkstockPhotos Gold Cup award on right
Hugh Beckie, Alberta, Canada; and Jason Norsworthy, Arkansas, earn top honors.

The Weed Science Society of America honored more than two dozen individuals for their outstanding contributions to the field of weed science.  The awards were presented during the organization’s annual meeting in Arlington, Virginia.

“This year we’re recognizing many outstanding scientists who are spearheading innovations and advancing weed science through their research, teaching, publishing and outreach,” says Scott Senseman, Ph.D., 2018 annual meeting chair and incoming president of WSSA. 

This year’s winners include: 

Fellow Awards (WSSA’S Highest Recognition) 

  • Hugh Beckie, Ph.D., Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada and the University of Alberta
  • Jason Norsworthy, Ph.D., University of Arkansas

Outstanding Extension Award

  • Christy L. Sprague, Ph.D., Michigan State University  

Outstanding Research Award

  • Jason Norsworthy, Ph.D., University of Arkansas

Outstanding Graduate Student Award

  • Chris Meyer, Ph.D. candidate, University of Arkansas

Outstanding Teacher Award

  • Anita Dille, Ph.D., Kansas State University

Outstanding Paper Award, Invasive Plant Science and Management 

  • Invasion Shadows: The Accumulation and Loss of Ecological Impacts from an Invasive Plant. Authors: Daniel Tekiela, Ph.D., University of Wyoming; Jacob Barney, Ph.D., Virginia Tech.

Outstanding Paper Award, Weed Science

  • Evaluation of Dicamba Persistence Among Various Agricultural Hose Types Plant and Cleanout Procedures Using Soybean (Glycine max) as a Bio-Indicator. Authors: Gary Cundiff, Ph.D., Valent USA; Thomas Mueller, Ph.D., University of Tennessee; Daniel Reynolds, Ph.D., Mississippi State University.

Outstanding Paper Award, Weed Technology

  • Influence of Cover Crops on Management of Amaranthus spp. in Glyphosate- and Glufosinate-Resistant Soybean. Authors: Mark Loux, Ph.D., The Ohio State University; Bryan Young, Ph.D., Purdue University; Kevin Bradley, Ph.D., University of Missouri; Bill Johnson, Ph.D., Purdue University; Doug Spaunhorst, Ph.D., USDA ARS Sugarcane Research Unit; Anthony Dobbels, M.S., The Ohio State University; Lawrence Steckel, Ph.D., University of Tennessee; Matheus Palhano, M.S., Monsanto; and Jason Norsworthy, Ph.D., University of Arkansas.

Outstanding Early Career Weed Scientist 

  • Prashant Jha, Ph.D., Montana State University-Bozeman

Outstanding Industry Award

  • Mark Peterson, Ph.D., Dow DuPont      

Outstanding Reviewer Awards

  • Amit Jhala, Ph.D., University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Nicholas Korres, Ph.D., University of Arkansas

Public Service Award

  • Phillip Stahlman, Ph.D., Kansas State University

Biographical sketches of the winners are available in the 2018 annual meeting awards program at

Source: Weed Science Society of America

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.