Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Waterloo, Wis., couple named 2021 Outstanding Young Farmers

Photos courtesy of Wisconsin OYF four couples that competed for the 2021 Wisconsin Outstanding Young Farmer award
OUTSTANDING FARMERS: Five couples competed for Wisconsin’s 2021 Outstanding Young Farmer Award. They are (front, from left) runners-up Joe and Ashley Dudkiewicz, Crivitz, and winners Jennifer and Shane Sauer, Waterloo. In back (from left) are Leslie and Scott Svacina, Deer Park, and Jenny and Michael Jenson, Elk Mound. Clint and Erin Hodorff, Eden, are not in the photo.
Shane and Jennifer Sauer farm 650 acres and milk 150 cows.

Shane and Jennifer Sauer of Waterloo, Wis., were selected as the Wisconsin 2021 Outstanding Young Farmers during the 67th annual OYF awards weekend, held Jan. 22-23 in Neenah, Wis.

Shane and Jennifer operate Sauer Dairy LLC, where they care for 150 registered Holsteins and farm 650 acres. The couple grows corn, soybeans, alfalfa and wheat on their farm. Shane is the third generation on his family’s dairy. The farm has been selected to host the Watertown Agribusiness Club dairy breakfast in June.

Shane has been farming since he was 15 years old. He focuses on the cows and producing high-quality milk. When COVID-19 affected markets for dairy products, the Sauers bought 5,000 bags of cheese curds from their dairy cooperative and sold them throughout the area. Their family was able to tell the farm story to the public, sharing their passion for farming.

Speak Up for Ag winners

The Sauers were also the OYF Speak Up for Agriculture winners. The Sauers were sponsored by Horicon Bank, Rolling Hills Dairy Producers, Insight FS and Mid-State Equipment.

Jennifer and Shane Sauer of Waterloo are the 2021 Wisconsin Outstanding Young Farmers.

WINNERS: Jennifer and Shane Sauer of Waterloo are the 2021 Wisconsin Outstanding Young Farmers and the OYF Speak Up for Agriculture winners.

Joe and Ashley Dudkiewicz of Crivitz were the first runners-up in the 2021 OYF competition. They have a beef herd and cash crop enterprise with about 1,400 acres in northwest Wisconsin. They were sponsored by GreenStone Farm Credit Services, Country Visions Cooperative and Pioneer Seeds.

Other finalists:

  • Clint and Erin Hodorff of Second-Look Holsteins, Eden, were sponsored by Ottery Brothers Trucking, CP Feeds and Sartori Cheese.
  • Michael and Jenny Jenson Jr. of Jenson Family Farms LLC, Elk Mound, were sponsored by ABS Global, Hoof and Paw Clinic, Byron Seeds, Leedstone, Equity, and Associated Milk Producers Inc.
  • Leslie and Scott Svacina of Cylon Rolling Acres, Deer Park, were sponsored by Premier 1 Supplies, Prairie Creek Seed, Compeer Financial, La Crosse Seed, and Frontier Ag and Turf.

Judges for the event were:

  • Kevin Coffeen, Green Bay, Wis., vice president and senior agriculture banking officer at Investors Community Bank
  • Sara Maass-Pate, Gillett, Wis., farm business and production management instructor at Fox Valley Technical College
  • Brian Schaal, Burlington, Wis., past Wisconsin OYF state and national OYF winner who has been a partner in Schaal Dairy Farm LLP since 2002

Sponsors for the OYF event include the following:

Diamond. Compeer Financial, Professional Dairy Producers and USAgNet

Platinum. Agri-View, Byron Seeds, Dairy Business Association, Equity Cooperative Livestock Sales Association, GreenStone Farm Credit, Insight FS Inc., Leedstone Inc., Rolling Hills Dairy Producers, and Ken and Ann Reckelberg

Gold. Lloyd and Daphne Holterman, Robert and Karyn Schauf, Wayside Dairy LLC-Dan and Barb Natzke, Country Visions Co-op, CP Feeds LLC, Dairy Department Inc., Frontier Ag and Turf, Homestead Meadows, Hoof and Paw Clinic, Horicon Bank, La Crosse Seed, Mid-State Equipment, Ottery Transportation, Premier 1 Supplies, Ron’s Cheese/Pagel’s Ponderosa, Sartori Cheese, and Wisconsin Farmers Union

Silver. ABS Global, AMPI, Eau Claire Energy Cooperative and Prairie Creek Seed

Bronze. Animart LLC, Fox Cities Convention and Visitors Bureau, Kwik Trip, and Lakeshore Farm Management

Next year’s Wisconsin OYF awards weekend will be held in January at the Best Western Premier Resort Hotel and Conference Center in Neenah.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.