Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: West

These 10 Excellence in Agriculture honorees raise the bar

Slideshow: Read about the Excellence in Ag winners from Dickey to Grant counties.

North Dakota State University’s Excellence in Agriculture awards winners raise more than just wheat, corn and soybeans.

In this group honorees, farmers and ranchers produce everything from pumpkins to bucking bulls.

The diversity of farmers showed up in their off-farm jobs and volunteer service. One couple has donated 180,000 pounds of produce to the food banks. Several are volunteer fireman. One woman has an unconventional but inspiriting healing business for people and animals.

In the second installment of a six-part series about NDSU’s Excellence in Agriculture recipients, winners from the following counties are profiled in the featured slideshow:

• Dickey — Larry and Laura Schumacher, Fullerton
• Divide — Byron and Shelley Carter, Fortuna
• Dunn — Chris and Jolyn Wasem, Halliday
• Eddy — Tim and Judy Allmaras, New Rockford
• Emmons — Tom and Tamie Bernhardt, Linton
• Fort Berthold — Myron Foote, New Town
• Foster — Kevin and Jennifer Wolsky, Carrington
• Golden Valley — Rory and Stephanie Farstveet, Beach
• Grand Forks — Tyler and Emelia Stover, Larimore
• Grant — Jacalyn Hartman, Elgin

All honorees
Check out the winners from these counties:

Adams through Cavalier

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.